Short answer: TSMC and Samsung Foundry both reported leading-edge 2nm-class production milestones in the fourth quarter of 2025, but the available disclosures do not prove that either company is universally “ahead.” Their node names are not directly interchangeable, and no matched third-party data in the cited company materials compares density, performance, power, yield, defect rates, cost or customer volume.
The clearest difference is structural and financial. TSMC is a pure-play foundry that publishes extensive company-wide manufacturing and customer statistics. Samsung Foundry is a unit inside Samsung Electronics’ broader semiconductor organization, which combines foundry, logic, memory and packaging activities. Samsung’s FY2025 announcement gives important production milestones and 2026 targets, but not a standalone Foundry revenue or wafer-shipment figure. That disclosure gap prevents a reliable like-for-like scale ranking.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
What the comparison actually shows
A useful comparison has to separate five questions that are often mixed together:
Recommended Free Tools
- Which process technologies are reported in production today?
- What do the companies disclose about revenue, wafers, products and customers?
- How broad are their manufacturing footprints and expansion plans?
- What evidence exists about customers and design ecosystems?
- What are management’s stated priorities for 2026 and beyond?
On the first question, both companies reported 2nm-class production activity in late 2025. On the second, TSMC provides substantially more quantified information. On the third, TSMC’s public materials give a detailed site and capacity picture, while the cited Samsung release emphasizes milestones rather than a comparable capacity total. On the fourth, both have ecosystem activity, but neither source set provides a directly comparable customer-count ranking. On the fifth, both expect advanced-node demand to drive growth, with TSMC highlighting artificial-intelligence demand and Samsung targeting double-digit Foundry revenue growth in 2026.
#1 Best Overall
Those differences matter to anyone reading foundry companies as businesses rather than treating a process label as a race result. A smaller node number is not, by itself, proof of lower cost, better yields or faster chips.
How the two businesses are organized
TSMC’s pure-play foundry model
TSMC says it follows a pure-play foundry model: it manufactures customers’ semiconductor designs but does not design, manufacture or market semiconductor products under its own name. The model is intended to reduce the concern that a manufacturer could compete with the customers whose products it fabricates. TSMC describes its offering as covering advanced and specialty process technologies as well as advanced packaging.
That focus also makes TSMC’s reporting easier to interpret. Its annual report presents consolidated company results alongside wafer shipments, technology mix, customer counts and product totals. These figures describe TSMC as a whole, not a separately reported “foundry segment,” because foundry manufacturing is the company’s central business.
Samsung Foundry inside Samsung Electronics
Samsung Foundry is a business unit within Samsung Electronics’ wider semiconductor operations. Samsung discusses Foundry alongside System LSI and other businesses, and presents integrated solutions that combine logic, memory and advanced packaging. This gives Samsung a broader set of capabilities, particularly where a customer wants several semiconductor functions coordinated in one relationship.
The broader structure creates an accounting limitation. Samsung’s FY2025 announcement reports Foundry milestones and targets, but the cited release does not state standalone Foundry revenue or wafer shipments. Samsung Electronics’ semiconductor figures therefore cannot be treated as if they represented only contract wafer manufacturing. Comparing them directly with TSMC’s consolidated foundry-oriented figures would mix unlike businesses.
Process technology: what was reported in production
The table below records the status stated by each company. “2nm” and similar names are company-specific process labels; they do not establish equivalent transistor density or electrical performance.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
| Company and process | Reported status | Applications or next step stated by the company |
|---|---|---|
| TSMC N2 | Entered high-volume manufacturing in Q4 2025. | Fast ramp expected in 2026. |
| TSMC N2P | Scheduled for volume production in the second half of 2026. | Roadmap schedule, not an independently verified production result. |
| TSMC A16 | Scheduled for volume production in the second half of 2026. | Super Power Rail is described as suitable for some high-performance-computing designs with complex signal routes and dense power-delivery networks. |
| TSMC A14 | Planned for 2028. | Future roadmap target. |
| Samsung first-generation 2nm | Mass production commenced in Q4 2025. | Samsung’s FY2025 announcement identifies this as a Foundry milestone. |
| Samsung SF2 | Samsung’s logic-node page labels mass production as started in 2025. | Second-generation MBCFET gate-all-around technology for mobile, high-performance computing, artificial intelligence and automotive uses. |
| Samsung SF2Z | Planned. | Samsung describes a high-performance-computing and artificial-intelligence focus; this is a roadmap use, not proof of completed production. |
| Samsung SF2A | Planned. | Samsung describes an automotive focus; this is a roadmap use, not proof of completed production. |
| Samsung SF3 | Samsung’s current node page labels mass production as started in 2022. | Process status is company-reported. |
| Samsung SF4 and SF5 | Samsung’s current node page labels mass production as started in 2021. | Process status is company-reported. |
Why “2nm versus 2nm” is not a benchmark
Foundry node names are useful product labels, but they no longer function as a universal physical measurement. The sources cited here do not provide a matched comparison of transistor density, performance at a stated power level, energy efficiency, yield, defect rates, wafer price or customer production volume. A company’s own claim about an improvement is therefore a claim about that company’s process, not a neutral head-to-head test.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Both companies use gate-all-around transistor terminology in their advanced-node descriptions, but the presence of a similar device architecture still does not make the processes equivalent. Design rules, libraries, interconnect options, power-delivery structures, packaging choices and maturity all affect the finished product. A chip designer would need process-design-kit details, qualification data and customer-specific results before making a technical selection.
What can be said with confidence
- TSMC reported N2 high-volume manufacturing in Q4 2025 and a 2026 ramp.
- Samsung reported first-generation 2nm mass production in Q4 2025 and identifies SF2 mass production as starting in 2025.
- Both companies describe additional 2nm-class variants or improvements in their roadmaps.
- The public material reviewed here does not establish a universal winner on speed, power, density, yield or cost.
Scale, revenue and disclosure
TSMC’s FY2025 annual report provides a detailed numerical picture. Samsung’s FY2025 Foundry announcement provides milestones and goals but not a standalone financial series. The asymmetry is itself a material fact when evaluating the companies.
| Measure | TSMC | Samsung Foundry |
|---|---|---|
| Reported revenue | US$122.42 billion consolidated revenue in 2025. | Standalone Foundry revenue: not stated in the cited FY2025 release. |
| Reported net income | US$55.21 billion consolidated net income in 2025. | Standalone Foundry net income: not stated. |
| Revenue growth | 35.9% growth in U.S.-dollar terms versus 2024, company-reported. | Foundry target for 2026 is double-digit revenue growth; a 2025 standalone growth rate is not stated. |
| 12-inch-equivalent wafer shipments | 15.0 million in 2025, up from 12.9 million in 2024. | Not stated for Foundry in the cited release. |
| Advanced-technology mix | 74% of wafer revenue came from 7nm-and-more-advanced technologies in 2025; 3nm represented 24% of total wafer revenue in its third full year of volume ramp. | Comparable Foundry wafer-revenue percentages are not stated. |
| Process technologies, products and customers | 305 process technologies, 12,682 products and 534 customers in 2025. | Comparable totals are not stated in the cited materials. |
| Annual manufacturing capacity | More than 17 million 12-inch-equivalent wafers, according to TSMC’s fundamentals information. | Comparable Foundry capacity is not stated in the cited materials. |
TSMC’s numbers are company-wide results, not a market-share estimate. They also combine different process generations and applications. A wafer shipment is a volume measure, while capacity is the amount a network could produce under stated assumptions; neither tells you how profitable a particular node is.
Samsung’s missing standalone numbers should not be converted into a guess. The absence of a figure in this release does not prove that no other Samsung filing or market dataset contains one, but it means the cited evidence cannot support a like-for-like comparison. It is more accurate to report Samsung’s disclosed production milestones and targets than to assign an invented revenue or shipment amount.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Manufacturing footprint and capacity plans
TSMC’s current network and projects
TSMC says its 2025 capacity spans Taiwan fabs and operations in Nanjing, Arizona, Japan and Washington, as well as a China subsidiary. Its fundamentals information gives more than 17 million 12-inch-equivalent wafers of annual manufacturing capacity. Capacity is a network figure and should not be confused with the 15.0 million wafers it shipped in 2025.
Rank #3
The company’s annual report distinguishes operating sites from projects. Its first Arizona fab entered high-volume production in Q4 2024. The second Arizona fab is expected to enter high-volume manufacturing in the second half of 2027, and construction of a third Arizona fab began in 2025. A second Japan fab is under construction, with planned 3nm production. TSMC also describes a Dresden, Germany, specialty-technology fab under construction for automotive and industrial applications.
These dates are schedules and plans, not guarantees that every facility will start on time or at the originally stated volume. They do, however, show how TSMC is trying to place more capacity near customers while retaining a large Taiwan-centered manufacturing base.
What the cited Samsung information establishes
The Samsung materials used for this comparison establish Foundry process milestones, integrated logic-memory-packaging ambitions and 2026 targets. They do not provide a matching list of Foundry sites, annual wafer capacity or a site-by-site production schedule. That limits geographic comparisons. It would be misleading to infer that TSMC’s published capacity total is larger or smaller than Samsung Foundry’s actual capacity without a common measurement and a Samsung figure for the same period.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errors2Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minute3Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsCustomers, design tools and ecosystem evidence
TSMC’s disclosed customer breadth
TSMC reports 534 customers, 12,682 products and 305 distinct process technologies for 2025. Those figures indicate breadth across many designs and process families, but they do not identify the revenue contribution or profitability of each customer. A large customer count can coexist with heavy concentration in a smaller number of high-volume products.
TSMC also emphasizes advanced packaging as part of its manufacturing service. Packaging can affect bandwidth, power delivery and the ability to combine chiplets or memory with logic, so wafer fabrication alone is not the entire manufacturing decision.
Samsung’s SAFE and integrated approach
Samsung describes its SAFE foundry ecosystem and presents logic, memory and advanced packaging as integrated offerings. Samsung and Cadence announced a collaboration around a design platform for Samsung’s 2nm process. Samsung separately announced expanded memory and Foundry collaboration with Broadcom. These examples show named ecosystem activity, but they do not provide a comparable customer total or prove that one partner ecosystem is superior for every design team.
Rank #4
For a chip company, ecosystem fit can be as important as the headline node. Relevant questions include whether a process-design kit is mature, whether intellectual-property libraries are available, how quickly design rules stabilize, what packaging options are qualified and whether the foundry can support the expected production volume. The cited public announcements do not answer all of those customer-specific questions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Strategic priorities and 2026 outlook
TSMC’s stated outlook
TSMC says artificial-intelligence demand should remain robust entering 2026, while also acknowledging macroeconomic uncertainty. Management expects its leading-edge, specialty and advanced-packaging technologies to support growth faster than the overall semiconductor industry. That is management’s outlook, not a guaranteed result.
TSMC Chairman and Chief Executive Officer C.C. Wei wrote in the 2025 annual report, “As a Foundry, our biggest responsibility is to support our customers with the most advanced technologies and necessary capacity to unleash their innovations.” He also wrote, “Our success is predicated on our steadfast adherence to the pure-play foundry business model.” The statements explain the company’s strategic identity: invest in process leadership and capacity while avoiding a competing branded-chip portfolio.
Samsung’s stated outlook
Samsung’s FY2025 company announcement says, “As for 2026, the Foundry Business is targeting double-digit revenue growth and improvement in profitability, driven by advanced nodes.” The company also says it plans to ramp second-generation 2nm products and strengthen integrated solutions across logic, memory and advanced packaging.
These are targets and plans. They should be evaluated against future orders, utilization, yields, product launches and financial disclosures rather than treated as achieved results.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Which foundry is more advanced?
There is no defensible one-word answer from the cited evidence. Both companies reported 2nm-class production in Q4 2025, and both describe additional advanced-node variants. The labels do not establish equivalence, and the available sources do not include matched third-party tests.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
If “more advanced” means the most transparent operating disclosure, TSMC has the stronger public evidence: it reports revenue, shipments, technology mix, customers, products and capacity in one annual-report framework. If it means access to an integrated logic-memory-packaging supplier, Samsung’s structure may be strategically attractive for some customers. If it means transistor density, power, speed or yield, the supplied evidence is insufficient to rank them.
A serious technical or procurement decision would require confidential or customer-specific data, including process-design-kit maturity, design-rule stability, wafer pricing, yield learning, qualification status, packaging availability and committed capacity. Those items cannot be inferred from a node name.
How to read the financial numbers without over-comparing them
Use TSMC’s figures as a company baseline
TSMC’s US$122.42 billion revenue, US$55.21 billion net income and 35.9% dollar-revenue growth describe consolidated 2025 performance. The 15.0 million wafer shipments and 74% advanced-technology wafer-revenue share add operating context. They do not isolate a single customer segment, and they should not be treated as a valuation recommendation.
Treat Samsung’s target as forward-looking
Samsung’s double-digit Foundry revenue-growth goal is a 2026 objective. It is not equivalent to TSMC’s 2025 reported growth rate. One is an achieved historical result; the other is management guidance. Keeping those categories separate prevents a forecast from being mistaken for a result.
Do not manufacture a market-share ranking
A market-share estimate would require a defined market, period, currency treatment and methodology. The cited company releases do not supply a common basis for such a calculation. TSMC’s consolidated revenue cannot be divided by an assumed Samsung Foundry number and presented as an official comparison.
A practical decision framework for readers
Use the following sequence when the question is whether one company is better positioned for a particular chip or investment thesis:
- Define the product. Mobile, artificial-intelligence accelerator, automotive controller and industrial chip designs have different power, reliability, packaging and qualification requirements.
- Check confirmed production status. Separate high-volume or mass-production statements from scheduled nodes and roadmap variants.
- Verify process equivalence. Ask for density, performance, power, yield and cost data measured under comparable conditions instead of relying on “2nm” labels.
- Measure supply options. Distinguish installed capacity, announced projects and expected start dates. A project under construction is not current output.
- Assess ecosystem readiness. Review design tools, libraries, packaging, technical support and the ability to move from prototype wafers to sustained volume.
- Separate reported results from targets. Historical revenue and shipments are not interchangeable with a forecast for next year.
- Account for disclosure risk. TSMC offers more public Foundry-oriented metrics; Samsung’s broader corporate structure means some comparable figures are not visible in the cited release.
Key limitations and common mistakes
- Assuming smaller numbers mean better processes. Node labels are company-specific and do not prove equivalent density or performance.
- Comparing unlike financial segments. TSMC’s consolidated results should not be compared with Samsung Electronics’ total semiconductor results as if both represented Foundry alone.
- Turning roadmaps into production. TSMC’s N2P, A16 and A14 schedules and Samsung’s SF2Z and SF2A descriptions are plans or intended applications where explicitly stated.
- Confusing capacity with shipments. TSMC’s more than 17 million wafer capacity and 15.0 million 2025 shipments answer different questions.
- Using ecosystem announcements as rankings. A Cadence platform collaboration or Broadcom memory-and-Foundry announcement demonstrates activity, not a universal partner-quality score.
- Reading management outlook as certainty. AI demand, expected industry outgrowth and Samsung’s double-digit growth objective remain subject to demand, execution and macroeconomic conditions.
Bottom line for a business comparison
TSMC is easier to analyze as a standalone manufacturing business because its pure-play model and annual report provide a dense set of comparable operating metrics. In 2025 it reported US$122.42 billion in consolidated revenue, 15.0 million 12-inch-equivalent wafer shipments, 74% of wafer revenue from 7nm-and-more-advanced technologies, 534 customers and more than 17 million wafers of annual capacity.
Samsung Foundry’s evidence is different rather than automatically weaker. Samsung reported first-generation 2nm mass production in Q4 2025, 4nm HBM base-die shipments, a 2026 target for double-digit Foundry revenue growth and improved profitability, and plans for more integrated logic, memory and packaging solutions. The cited FY2025 release does not provide standalone Foundry revenue, wafer shipments or a matching capacity figure.
Both companies therefore look credible in advanced manufacturing, but the public record supports a qualified conclusion: they had comparable 2nm-class production milestones by late 2025, while their business structures, disclosure levels and roadmaps differ substantially. A fair judgment depends on the specific process, product, location, volume and financial measure being evaluated.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




