Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →If I could own only one of these two Dividend Kings for the next 20 years, I would start with Procter & Gamble (P&G). Its 70-year record of annual increases, 136 years of uninterrupted dividend payments and 5% 10-year compound dividend growth provide the clearest income-durability case in the evidence available through 2026. That is a preference, not a guarantee: the purchase price, future cash generation and your tolerance for business risk can still make Johnson & Johnson (J&J) the better choice for you.
The key is to treat the streak as a starting point. A 20-year decision should weigh dividend capacity, growth engines, valuation and the risks that could impair either company—not simply count years of increases.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Why P&G gets my one-stock vote
P&G’s advantage is the combination of duration and visible dividend growth. Its FY2026 results report 70 consecutive annual dividend increases and 136 consecutive years of paying a dividend. The company’s 2026 annual report also gives a 5% compound average annual dividend increase over the preceding decade. That record does not predict the next 20 years, but it demonstrates that management has repeatedly protected the payout through changing economic conditions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →J&J is also an exceptional income company. It announced its 64th consecutive annual increase on April 14, 2026, lifting the quarterly dividend from $1.30 to $1.34, a 3.1% increase and an indicated annual rate of $5.36. The difference is not that J&J lacks a record; it is that P&G has the longer documented history and the stronger recent dividend-growth figure in the cited materials.
#1 Best Overall
I would still refuse to buy P&G at an irrational price. If J&J were materially cheaper while P&G’s valuation implied years of perfect execution, the ranking could reverse. Because a same-date price, yield and payout comparison is not established here, the final purchase decision must include your own market-date calculations.
The dividend records, side by side
| Measure | Procter & Gamble | Johnson & Johnson |
|---|---|---|
| Consecutive annual increases | 70 through FY2026 | 64th increase announced April 14, 2026 |
| Consecutive years paying a dividend | 136 through FY2026 | Not established in the cited company materials |
| Most recent increase | 3% in FY2026 results | 3.1%, from $1.30 to $1.34 per quarter |
| Indicated annual dividend after latest increase | Not stated in the cited materials | $5.36 |
| 10-year compound average dividend growth | 5% in the 2026 annual report | Not stated in the cited materials |
Both companies clear the usual 50-year threshold used for the “Dividend King” label. The label is retrospective: it records what a board has done, not what it must do. P&G’s annual report says future dividends remain subject to board discretion after reviewing yields, profitability, cash-flow expectations and financing needs.
Two very different businesses support those dividends
Procter & Gamble: consumer products and repeat purchasing
P&G sells consumer products, so much of its revenue comes from items households replenish rather than from a single treatment, device launch or contract. That can make demand steadier than in more cyclical industries, although consumers can trade down, delay purchases or switch brands when prices rise. P&G’s FY2026 materials describe sales and earnings growth alongside the 3% dividend increase.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
For a 20-year owner, the useful question is whether P&G can keep raising prices or mix while retaining enough volume to fund marketing, innovation, capital spending and dividends. The 5% 10-year dividend-growth rate shows what happened over a defined historical period; it is not a forecast of 5% annual increases going forward.
Johnson & Johnson: Innovative Medicine and MedTech
J&J reports two operating segments. In full-year 2025 results, Innovative Medicine generated $60.401 billion of sales and MedTech generated $33.792 billion, for $94.193 billion in total reported sales. The businesses have different economics: medicines depend on clinical success, approvals and patent-protected products, while medical technology depends on procedure volumes, hospital budgets and product adoption.
This mix gives J&J several growth paths, but it also creates distinct risks. A medicine can face loss of exclusivity or a failed development program; a device can encounter competitive pressure, regulatory scrutiny or slower procedure growth. The diversification across two healthcare segments does not eliminate those risks—it changes their form.
Rank #3
What the latest growth figures do—and do not—say
J&J reported 6.0% total sales growth for full-year 2025. In the second quarter of 2026, worldwide reported sales growth was 6.6%, with 7.8% growth in Innovative Medicine and 4.5% in MedTech. Those are reported figures that include currency effects. J&J also presents operational growth, which excludes currency, and adjusted operational growth, which additionally excludes net acquisitions and divestitures. Do not compare a reported rate with an operational rate as if they measured the same thing.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
The available P&G materials establish FY2026 sales and earnings growth but do not provide a directly comparable set of segment percentages in the same period. The companies also use different fiscal calendars and segment structures. A precise growth race therefore requires pulling the relevant annual and quarterly filings together at the time you invest.
How to test whether the dividend is financially supportable
A long streak matters only if the current business can fund the next payment. Before buying either stock, review the latest annual report and quarterly filing and calculate the following:
Rank #4
- Earnings payout ratio: divide common dividends by diluted earnings attributable to common shareholders for the same period. Investigate a sharp rise rather than assuming it is permanent.
- Free-cash-flow coverage: divide dividends by operating cash flow minus capital expenditures. This tests cash left after maintaining the business, although acquisitions and restructuring can distort a single year.
- Debt and interest burden: examine maturities, interest expense and management’s stated financing needs. A company can report accounting earnings while having less flexibility because of debt repayments.
- Reinvestment requirements: determine how much must be spent on research, manufacturing, product launches, regulatory compliance or brand support to preserve future growth.
- Share count and acquisitions: buybacks can reduce the shares receiving dividends, while acquisitions can add debt or new cash-generating assets. Read the cash-flow statement instead of inferring capacity from the dividend streak.
The cited materials do not establish a same-period payout-ratio or free-cash-flow comparison for P&G and J&J. That is a reason to perform the calculation, not a reason to fill the gap with an invented estimate.
Risks that could change a 20-year outcome
P&G-specific exposures
- Private-label and competitor pressure: shoppers may accept cheaper alternatives, especially when inflation reduces household purchasing power.
- Input and currency costs: materials, packaging, transportation and foreign-exchange movements can compress margins if price increases do not offset them.
- Brand investment: underinvesting in innovation or advertising can weaken the pricing power that supports dividend growth.
- Portfolio execution: divestitures, acquisitions or product-category shifts can change the growth profile and the amount of cash available for distributions.
J&J-specific exposures
- Patent and product-cycle risk: medicine revenue can fall when exclusivity ends or a newer therapy displaces an established product.
- Clinical and regulatory risk: trial results, approvals, safety findings and reimbursement decisions can alter sales expectations.
- MedTech procedure sensitivity: hospitals and physicians may delay procedures when budgets tighten or supply constraints arise.
- Legal and compliance exposure: healthcare companies face litigation and regulatory obligations that can affect cash flow and management attention.
These are risk categories to verify in current filings, not predictions that a particular event will occur. Over two decades, either company can experience a period in which its historical dividend growth is slower.
Recommended Free Tools
Valuation is the missing part of the “one stock” answer
A high-quality company can still be a poor investment when purchased at an excessive price. Use the share price on the day you are deciding and the applicable declared annual dividend:
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
- Compute the forward indicated yield as annualized dividend divided by share price.
- Compare the current earnings and free-cash-flow multiples with the company’s own recent ranges, adjusting for unusual gains, charges or one-time items.
- Stress-test a lower-growth case. Ask whether the dividend remains acceptable if increases slow from the historical 5% P&G rate or if J&J’s recent 3.1% increase is not repeated.
- Estimate the return required for your goal. Dividend income plus sustainable earnings growth and any change in the valuation multiple drive total return; the streak alone does not.
- Set a maximum position size before buying. A single-stock mandate in the hypothetical does not mean your real portfolio should be concentrated in one company.
Do not quote a current yield from an undated source. The annualized dividend changes when a board declares a new rate, and the yield changes every trading day.
When Johnson & Johnson could be the better choice
J&J deserves the selection if your analysis finds a substantially more attractive entry valuation or if you prefer healthcare exposure to consumer products. Its 2025 sales base spans $60.401 billion in Innovative Medicine and $33.792 billion in MedTech, and its Q2 2026 reported growth was positive in both segments. An investor who accepts patent, clinical and regulatory uncertainty in exchange for those growth avenues may reasonably favor J&J.
The decision also depends on income timing. J&J’s latest declared quarterly rate is $1.34, or $5.36 annualized. P&G’s 3% FY2026 increase and 5% decade-long compound growth are useful historical markers, but the cited materials do not provide a same-date share price or yield for either company. Compare the cash income you would actually receive at your purchase price rather than choosing by reputation.
Practical way to implement the choice
- Read the latest filings: use each company’s annual report and most recent results release, noting the fiscal period and whether growth is reported, operational or adjusted operational.
- Build a one-page comparison: record annualized dividend, share price, yield, earnings payout, free-cash-flow coverage, net debt, major maturities and the principal growth drivers.
- Choose a buying schedule: investing in several tranches can reduce the risk of committing all capital on one valuation date, but it does not remove business risk.
- Reinvest deliberately: automatic dividend reinvestment compounds shares, while taking cash may suit an investor using the income. Check tax treatment in a taxable account before deciding.
- Review the thesis annually: focus on coverage, competitive position, segment growth and balance-sheet changes—not on whether the company preserved a marketing label for another year.
Bottom line
My default one-stock answer is Procter & Gamble because the documented 70-year increase streak, 136 years of payments and 5% 10-year dividend-growth rate provide the strongest evidence of distribution durability. Johnson & Johnson remains a credible alternative with a 64th consecutive increase, a $5.36 indicated annual dividend and substantial medicine and MedTech businesses. At any actual purchase date, however, valuation and cash-flow coverage can outweigh a six-year difference in streak length. Buy P&G only when its price and financial capacity meet your requirements; otherwise, J&J may be the more rational 20-year holding.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




