DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to the guide
THE FINANCEBASE List yours

Guide

NVIDIA’s $100 Billion OpenAI Plan: What the 10-Gigawatt AI Buildout Really Means

By TheFinanceBase Team 7 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: NVIDIA has not publicly transferred $100 billion to OpenAI. On September 22, 2025, the companies announced a letter of intent under which NVIDIA said it intended to invest up to $100 billion in OpenAI progressively as OpenAI deployed at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems. The announcement was not a completed investment, a binding final contract, or proof that one 10-gigawatt data center already exists.

What NVIDIA and OpenAI actually announced

The original announcement came on September 22, 2025. OpenAI and NVIDIA described a strategic partnership and letter of intent covering at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems for OpenAI’s training and inference workloads. NVIDIA said it intended to invest up to $100 billion in OpenAI as those systems were deployed.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The first gigawatt was targeted for the second half of 2026 and was expected to use NVIDIA’s Vera Rubin platform. The companies’ announcements are available from OpenAI and NVIDIA.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Term What it means
“Up to $100 billion” A maximum proposed investment, not an unconditional payment.
“At least 10 gigawatts” A minimum planned scale for NVIDIA-powered systems and related infrastructure.
“Progressively” Funding was described as occurring as deployment milestones were reached.
“Letter of intent” A preliminary strategic framework, not the same as a fully disclosed definitive investment agreement.

The public announcement did not disclose a final valuation, NVIDIA’s ownership percentage, a complete deployment timetable, or a site-by-site list. It also did not say that NVIDIA would pay the entire cost of land, buildings, power, financing, cooling, networking, and operations.

#1 Best Overall
Sale
HPE NVIDIA Tesla V100 32GB HBM2 PCIe 3.0 x16 Passive GPU Computational Accelerator for AI Machine Learning HPC Deep Learning 699-2G500-0216-400 (Renewed)
  • NVIDIA Volta GV100 Architecture — 4,608 CUDA Cores, 640 1st-Gen Tensor Cores delivering 14 TFLOPS FP32 and 112 TFLOPS deep learning performance for AI training, inference, HPC, and scientific computing workloads
  • 32GB HBM2 ECC Memory — 900 GB/s Bandwidth — High-bandwidth memory on a 4096-bit bus with ECC error correction provides the memory capacity and throughput required for the largest AI models, simulations, and datasets
  • PCIe 3.0 x16 Interface — 250W TDP — Standard PCIe Gen3 connectivity with passive cooling designed for enterprise rack server deployment in HPE ProLiant, Dell PowerEdge, and Supermicro platforms with adequate chassis airflow
  • NVLink — Scale to 96GB Unified Memory — Connect two V100 GPUs via NVLink at 300 GB/s bi-directional bandwidth to scale GPU memory from 32GB to 96GB for larger AI training and HPC workloads
  • Multi-Precision Computing — Supports FP64 (7 TFLOPS), FP32 (14 TFLOPS), FP16 (112 TFLOPS) and INT8 precision modes for flexible deployment across training, inference, and scientific simulation workloads

Is NVIDIA investing $100 billion or paying for data centers?

The proposed $100 billion was described as an equity investment in OpenAI. That is different from NVIDIA directly funding every dollar of a data-center construction program.

OpenAI would still need infrastructure developers, landlords, utilities, lenders, cloud and colocation partners, and other suppliers. OpenAI could use new equity capital to buy NVIDIA systems, lease capacity, and arrange additional debt or project financing. In that structure, NVIDIA supplies capital to a major customer that may then purchase NVIDIA hardware—a commercially powerful loop, but not the same as NVIDIA writing a $100 billion construction check.

NVIDIA’s October 2025 investor presentation characterized the arrangement as up to $100 billion of equity invested as each gigawatt was built out and said OpenAI would buy directly from NVIDIA under the proposed structure. See the NVIDIA non-deal roadshow presentation.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What 10 gigawatts means

A gigawatt measures power capacity, not a number of chips and not a guaranteed amount of computing performance. In this context, 10 gigawatts describes the enormous electrical and computing infrastructure needed to operate the planned NVIDIA systems. NVIDIA and OpenAI said the buildout would represent millions of GPUs.

Several different power numbers can be involved

  • Generation capacity: power produced by a gas, nuclear, renewable, or other source.
  • Grid or utility capacity: what the transmission and distribution system can deliver.
  • Facility capacity: the electrical capacity of a data-center campus.
  • IT load: power available to servers, GPUs, storage, and networking.
  • System power: electricity consumed by the NVIDIA equipment itself.

Those figures are related but interchangeable only with clearly stated assumptions. The original announcement did not provide a definitive site-by-site breakdown or establish whether the 10 gigawatts refers to one campus, several campuses, or multiple phases. It is therefore misleading to call it one completed 10-gigawatt building.

How large could the capital requirement be?

Reuters analysis reported that NVIDIA CEO Jensen Huang had previously put the cost of building one gigawatt of AI data-center capacity at about $50 billion, including roughly $35 billion for NVIDIA chips and systems. Applied to 10 gigawatts, that would imply hundreds of billions of dollars in total infrastructure spending. It is an industry estimate, not a disclosed budget for the OpenAI project; the figures were discussed by Reuters, republished by Investing.com.

Under that estimate, a $100 billion NVIDIA equity commitment would be one financing component among many. Actual cost will depend on land, construction, transformers, networking, cooling, energy contracts, interest rates, equipment prices, and how much capacity is leased rather than owned.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

How the plan relates to Stargate

OpenAI separately announced Stargate infrastructure work with Oracle, SoftBank, Microsoft, and other partners. The NVIDIA partnership is complementary to that wider ecosystem, but the announcements do not establish that every Stargate gigawatt is additional to every gigawatt in the NVIDIA plan.

Capacity should not be double-counted without a project-level allocation. OpenAI’s Stargate site announcement is at openai.com/index/five-new-stargate-sites/. A reported project can be part of several commercial relationships at once: an OpenAI workload, a SoftBank development, an Oracle or Microsoft service, and an NVIDIA hardware deployment are not automatically separate facilities.

What changed after the 2025 announcement?

September 22, 2025: preliminary partnership

The companies announced the letter of intent, the up-to-$100-billion progressive equity proposal, the at-least-10-gigawatt target, and a first-phase goal for the second half of 2026.

Rank #3
Sale
NVIDIA 5GB nVIDIA Tesla K20 GPU Server Accelerator 900-22081-0010-000 (Renewed)
  • Item Package Dimension -14.7L X 8.8W X 3.4H Inches
  • Item Package Weight - 2.4 Pounds
  • Item Package Quantity - 1
  • Product Type - Video Card

October 2025: more detail on the proposed mechanics

NVIDIA’s investor presentation described equity investment occurring as each gigawatt was built out. It still did not disclose final ownership or valuation terms.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

July 2026: reported Ohio financing discussions

Reuters reported that NVIDIA was in talks to provide a roughly $250 billion financing backstop for a SoftBank subsidiary’s proposed project in southern Ohio that OpenAI might lease. The report described a guarantee or backstop connected with project and lease financing, not a completed $100 billion equity investment in OpenAI. See the Investing.com-republished Reuters report and the Yahoo Finance version.

August 15–16, 2026: unconfirmed reports of a smaller backstop

Reports circulating on those dates said the possible guarantee may have been reduced to less than $120 billion and that OpenAI was still discussing a binding lease for the 10-gigawatt Ohio project. The available evidence for that update was secondary and did not include a confirmed primary filing, so it should be treated as reported negotiations rather than an executed agreement. A lead report was surfaced at Reddit.

Separately, February 2026 coverage questioned whether the original arrangement had materialized in its initially discussed form. That claim is consequential and should not be treated as settled without a company statement or primary filing; see Ars Technica for the secondary discussion.

Why would NVIDIA finance a major customer?

Potential strategic benefits

  • Accelerating construction can bring GPU, CPU, networking, rack, and software sales forward.
  • NVIDIA can help design facilities around its systems, interconnects, and power requirements.
  • A large OpenAI deployment could reinforce NVIDIA’s ecosystem and increase switching costs.
  • Equity exposure could give NVIDIA upside if OpenAI’s valuation and usage grow.

Financial and competitive risks

  • NVIDIA could be financing demand for its own products, creating circular-financing concerns.
  • A delayed or uneconomic build could hurt both the investment and expected hardware sales.
  • A guarantee can create contingent liabilities without being an immediate cash outlay.
  • NVIDIA would increase exposure to one customer, one model provider, and one AI-demand thesis.
  • Competitors could argue that vendor-backed financing makes headline demand look stronger than end-user cash demand.

An equity investment is not automatically chip revenue. Hardware revenue would depend on orders, delivery, customer acceptance, and deployment. NVIDIA’s announcement also warned that investment amounts, product availability, timing, and deployment expectations are forward-looking and subject to risks.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Rank #4
NVIDIA Tesla A100 Ampere 40 GB Graphics Processor Accelerator - PCIe 4.0 x16 - Dual Slot
  • Discrete graphics card memory 40 GB
  • Memory bandwidth (max) 1555 GB/s
  • Graphics processor family NVIDIA
  • Graphics processor A100
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What the plan means for OpenAI

  • Capacity: more assured access to advanced NVIDIA systems for training and inference.
  • Planning: greater ability to coordinate power, facilities, networking, and model expansion.
  • Financing: potentially lower financing friction for large projects.
  • Dilution: an equity investment could reduce existing holders’ percentage ownership, depending on final terms.
  • Dependence: OpenAI could become more reliant on one accelerator supplier and long-term infrastructure obligations.
  • Technology risk: future accelerators may be more efficient or alternatives may become more competitive before all 10 gigawatts are deployed.

Infrastructure constraints that can delay the headline

Announced capacity becomes useful capacity only after a long chain of dependencies:

  1. Land acquisition, environmental review, local approvals, and building permits.
  2. Utility interconnection, transmission upgrades, transformers, switchgear, and power contracts.
  3. Cooling systems, water availability or alternative cooling, and heat-rejection infrastructure.
  4. Construction labor, semiconductor supply, racks, storage, optical links, and network equipment.
  5. Debt, leases, guarantees, tenant credit, interest costs, and insurance.
  6. Installation, testing, model deployment, and sustained operation at acceptable utilization.

A useful status ladder is: announced → financed → contracted → under construction → powered → accepting hardware → operational → revenue-producing. The 2025 announcement established an ambition, not completion on every rung.

What it means for NVIDIA, competitors, and investors

NVIDIA could gain incremental sales across GPUs, CPUs, networking, racks, and software while strengthening its position against AMD, Google’s TPUs, AWS Trainium and Inferentia, Microsoft’s Maia efforts, Broadcom custom-chip programs, and specialist cloud providers. OpenAI still has incentives to diversify suppliers to control cost, availability, and bargaining power; the NVIDIA partnership does not prove that OpenAI will use only NVIDIA hardware.

For investors, the key questions are whether a definitive investment agreement was signed, whether any equity closing occurred, what valuation and ownership resulted, and whether hardware purchase commitments are binding. A headline commitment is not the same as recognized revenue, operating data-center capacity, or a guaranteed return on NVIDIA’s investment.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What to watch next

  • A definitive investment agreement and the first equity closing.
  • Public disclosure of valuation, ownership, dilution, and milestone triggers.
  • Binding OpenAI purchase orders or long-term NVIDIA supply agreements.
  • A signed Ohio lease, project-finance commitments, and permits.
  • Utility interconnection approvals and construction commencement.
  • The first energized megawatt, installed cluster, and revenue-producing workload.

How the commercial options differ for ordinary businesses

The proposed buildout concerns utility-scale infrastructure, not a consumer workstation. Organizations with smaller workloads generally choose among:

Need Typical option Main trade-off
Occasional experimentation Public cloud or notebook-style GPU service Easy to start, but usage pricing and quotas can vary.
Recurring inference Reserved cloud capacity or a specialist GPU provider More predictable capacity, with contract and regional constraints.
Heavy training Negotiated cloud contract, dedicated cluster, or owned infrastructure Higher commitment and operational complexity.
Hardware diversification Google TPU, AWS Trainium/Inferentia, or AMD Instinct Potential savings or supply flexibility, but software migration may be required.

Current prices for these services are region-, accelerator-, contract-, and availability-dependent. The available announcements do not establish a reliable 2026 hourly price, so a specific price should not be inferred from the OpenAI-NVIDIA figures.

The Bottom Line

Bottom line: The September 2025 announcement was a landmark proposal: NVIDIA intended to invest up to $100 billion in OpenAI progressively as OpenAI deployed at least 10 gigawatts of NVIDIA systems. It was not proof of a completed $100 billion transfer or one operating 10-gigawatt data center. Later Ohio financing reports involve a different, much larger proposed backstop and remain reported negotiations unless confirmed by definitive company filings.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 3
NVIDIA 5GB nVIDIA Tesla K20 GPU Server Accelerator 900-22081-0010-000 (Renewed)
NVIDIA 5GB nVIDIA Tesla K20 GPU Server Accelerator 900-22081-0010-000 (Renewed)
Item Package Dimension -14.7L X 8.8W X 3.4H Inches; Item Package Weight - 2.4 Pounds; Item Package Quantity - 1
$58.41
Bestseller No. 4
NVIDIA Tesla A100 Ampere 40 GB Graphics Processor Accelerator - PCIe 4.0 x16 - Dual Slot
NVIDIA Tesla A100 Ampere 40 GB Graphics Processor Accelerator - PCIe 4.0 x16 - Dual Slot
Discrete graphics card memory 40 GB; Memory bandwidth (max) 1555 GB/s; Graphics processor family NVIDIA
$4,669.00

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More guides

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.