Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to the guide
THE FINANCEBASE List yours

Guide

Johnson & Johnson vs. Other Dividend Kings: How to Compare Dividend Stocks in 2026

By TheFinanceBase Team 12 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Johnson & Johnson (JNJ) is not automatically a better dividend stock than another Dividend King. Its record is exceptional, but a useful comparison must also examine the dividend’s growth rate, cash-flow coverage, balance sheet, legal and operating risks, current yield, and valuation—all measured on consistent dates and definitions. J&J’s latest announced increase, on April 14, 2026, lifted the quarterly dividend 3.1% from $1.30 to $1.34 per share, or $5.36 annualized. That was the company’s 64th consecutive annual increase. The streak demonstrates a long history of raising the payment; it does not guarantee the next increase or prove that the shares are attractively priced.

What a “Dividend King” is—and what the label does not tell you

“Dividend King” is an informal market label generally applied to a company that has increased its regular annual dividend for at least 50 consecutive years. It is not a regulated security classification and does not impose a common test for payout ratios, debt, earnings quality, valuation, or future increases.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

The formal S&P 500 Dividend Aristocrats index uses different rules. A constituent must be in the S&P 500 and must have increased its dividend for at least 25 consecutive years, along with meeting the index provider’s other eligibility and diversification requirements. Therefore, a company can be called a Dividend King without being in that index, and index membership does not mean a company has a 50-year record.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A streak measures only whether the annual payment increased. It does not measure:

  • the size of each increase or whether the dividend kept pace with inflation;
  • the current yield, which changes whenever the share price changes;
  • the proportion of earnings or free cash flow paid to shareholders;
  • leverage, liquidity, litigation exposure, competitive threats, or acquisition needs; or
  • your prospective total return from the price you pay.

Use the label as a starting screen for a history of shareholder distributions, not as a verdict.

Johnson & Johnson’s current dividend record

The April 2026 declaration

On April 14, 2026, Johnson & Johnson announced a 3.1% increase in its quarterly dividend, from $1.30 to $1.34 per share. The indicated annual rate became $5.36 per share, up from $5.20. J&J described this as its 64th consecutive year of dividend increases.

That announcement identified a June 9, 2026 payment to shareholders of record on May 26, 2026. Payment dates can be superseded by a later board declaration, so confirm the issuer’s most recent dividend notice before relying on those dates.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the annualized rate differs from cash dividends paid

J&J’s 2025 Form 10-K reports $5.14 per share in cash dividends paid during 2025, compared with $4.91 in 2024. The same filing reports 63 consecutive annual increases through 2025.

Those $5.14 and $4.91 figures are historical cash distributions that actually left the company during each fiscal year. The $5.36 figure is the new quarterly dividend multiplied by four; it is an indicated forward annual rate. A fiscal year can include four payments set by different declarations, so the two measures should never be presented as if they were the same payout.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

How J&J compares with other long-streak companies

Streak length provides context, but it cannot answer whether one stock offers the best combination of income, resilience, and price. Coca-Cola and Procter & Gamble illustrate why. Coca-Cola reported a 64th consecutive annual increase in February 2026. Procter & Gamble reported a 3% increase and its 70th consecutive annual increase in fiscal 2026. Both records match or exceed J&J’s streak, yet the businesses, balance sheets, growth prospects, and share prices are different.

Company and ticker Consecutive increase record and source date Indicated annual dividend per share and currency Yield on one stated share-price date Five-year dividend growth Ten-year dividend growth Payout against earnings and free cash flow Net debt or liquidity context Material business-specific risks Valuation measure and date
Johnson & Johnson (JNJ) 64 years; April 14, 2026 dividend announcement. The 2025 Form 10-K records 63 increases through 2025. $5.36 indicated annual rate, U.S. dollars, based on $1.34 quarterly dividend. Not stated in the cited sources; calculate using the share price on the same date as the comparison. Not stated in the cited sources; define whether this is compound annual growth in the regular dividend. Not stated in the cited sources; use the same calculation convention as the five-year figure. Not stated in the cited sources. Do not substitute $5.14 cash dividends paid in 2025 for a payout ratio without matching earnings and free-cash-flow periods. 2025 Form 10-K: $47.9 billion total borrowings and $27.8 billion net debt at year-end, versus $12.1 billion net debt in 2024. June 28, 2026 Form 10-Q: approximately $20.8 billion in cash, equivalents and marketable securities and $49.0 billion in notes payable and long-term debt. Talc-related matters, opioid settlement obligations, patent expirations and generic or biosimilar competition, acquisition spending, and pharmaceutical pipeline execution. Not stated in the cited sources; use a common-date earnings, cash-flow, or enterprise-value measure.
The Coca-Cola Company (KO) 64 years; 2025 Form 10-K filed February 20, 2026, describing the February 2026 increase. $2.12 annualized for 2026, based on a $0.53 regular quarterly dividend, U.S. dollars. Not stated in the cited sources; use a common share-price date. Not stated in the cited sources. Not stated in the cited sources. Not stated in the cited sources; specify GAAP or adjusted earnings and the free-cash-flow period if calculated. Not stated in the cited sources used here. Not stated in the cited sources used here; review the company’s latest filing for currency, regulatory, consumer-demand, and leverage exposures. Not stated in the cited sources.
The Procter & Gamble Company (PG) 70 years; fiscal 2026 results, published in 2026, report a 3% increase. Not stated in the cited sources used here. Not stated in the cited sources; use a common share-price date. Not stated in the cited sources. Not stated in the cited sources. Not stated in the cited sources; match the numerator and denominator periods. Not stated in the cited sources used here. Not stated in the cited sources used here; assess category competition, input costs, currency, and execution from the latest filing. Not stated in the cited sources.

The table deliberately leaves cross-company yields, payout ratios, and valuation blank where no same-date figures were established. Filling those cells with numbers from different dates would create a misleading comparison.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Is J&J’s dividend financially supported?

Start with recurring cash generation

A dividend is funded with cash, not with a streak. Examine operating cash flow, capital expenditures, free cash flow, and the regular dividend paid over the same period. Free cash flow is commonly calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditures, but companies may classify items differently. State your definition and period before comparing J&J with another issuer.

J&J’s 2025 Form 10-K gives the cash-dividend figure of $5.14 per share, but the cited information does not provide a comparable earnings or free-cash-flow payout ratio. You therefore cannot infer a coverage percentage from that dividend number alone. A proper calculation would divide total regular dividends paid (or declared, if that is the chosen convention) by the corresponding period’s net income and by free cash flow, separately.

Then examine debt and liquidity

At the end of fiscal 2025, J&J reported $47.9 billion of total borrowings and $27.8 billion of net debt, up from $12.1 billion of net debt in 2024. The filing attributed part of the increase to acquisition-related borrowing. For the quarter ended June 28, 2026, its Form 10-Q reported approximately $20.8 billion in cash, cash equivalents and marketable securities against approximately $49.0 billion in notes payable and long-term debt.

These figures provide a balance-sheet context, not a standalone dividend diagnosis. Compare debt maturities, interest expense, operating cash flow, liquidity facilities, and management’s capital-allocation priorities. A company can carry substantial debt and still fund a dividend, while a company with modest debt can face a cash squeeze after a sharp earnings decline or major legal payment.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Separate legal commitments from proof of failure

J&J’s filings discuss remaining talc-related amounts, opioid settlement obligations, and continuing intellectual-property challenges from generic and biosimilar manufacturers. These commitments can reduce cash available for dividends or acquisitions, and patent losses can affect pharmaceutical revenue. They are risks to model and monitor; their presence alone does not establish that the dividend is unsafe.

How to compare dividend yield correctly

Indicated dividend yield is calculated as:

Indicated annual dividend per share ÷ share price on a stated date = indicated yield.

For J&J, use the $5.36 indicated annual rate only with a clearly identified share price. If the stock price is $P on that date, the indicated yield is $5.36 divided by $P. Do not combine J&J’s $5.14 of cash dividends paid in 2025 with a later share price and call the result a current yield.

Yield is price-sensitive. A rising price lowers the yield even when the dividend is unchanged; a falling price raises the yield and may signal deteriorating expectations. A high yield can therefore represent either attractive income or a market warning. Compare yields for J&J, KO, and PG using the same closing-price date, currency, and dividend convention.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Measure dividend growth, not just the number of increases

Two companies can each have a 64-year streak while delivering very different income growth. Calculate the compound annual growth rate of the regular dividend over five and ten years:

Growth rate = (ending annual dividend ÷ starting annual dividend)1/years − 1.

Use comparable annual declarations rather than mixing a fiscal-year cash total with a forward annualized rate. Identify whether special dividends are excluded, whether the starting and ending payments are quarterly or annual totals, and whether the period includes a cut followed by a recovery. Also compare dividend growth with inflation if your objective is purchasing-power protection.

J&J’s latest increase was 3.1%, while Procter & Gamble’s fiscal 2026 increase was reported as 3%. Those single-year percentages do not replace five- and ten-year calculations, but they show why the size of the latest raise matters alongside the streak.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Payout ratios: use consistent earnings and cash definitions

An earnings payout ratio divides dividends by earnings attributable to common shareholders. A free-cash-flow payout ratio divides dividends by free cash flow. Both can be useful, and neither is universally definitive.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways
  • GAAP versus adjusted earnings: adjusted figures may exclude restructuring, litigation, acquisition, or amortization items. Label the basis explicitly.
  • Period matching: use dividends and earnings or free cash flow from the same quarter, fiscal year, or trailing period.
  • One-time effects: a settlement, asset sale, tax benefit, or working-capital swing can distort one year’s coverage.
  • Per-share versus total amounts: per-share dividends should be paired with per-share earnings, while total dividends should be paired with total company earnings or cash flow.
  • Negative or unusually low free cash flow: investigate capital spending and working-capital timing instead of treating one ratio as a permanent condition.

For J&J, the sourced figures establish the dividend and balance-sheet amounts but do not establish comparable 2025 payout percentages. A responsible comparison calculates those ratios from the full filings rather than inferring them from the streak.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Business risks that differ across Dividend Kings

Johnson & Johnson

J&J combines pharmaceutical and medical-technology businesses, so its dividend analysis must account for patent expirations, generic and biosimilar competition, clinical and pipeline execution, regulatory outcomes, product liability, and litigation settlements. Acquisition spending can increase debt, as reflected in the rise in net debt reported for 2025. Monitor how recurring operating cash flow covers dividends after research spending, capital investment, interest, and legal payments.

Coca-Cola

Coca-Cola’s 2025 Form 10-K states that future dividends depend on earnings, financial condition, business-development needs, regulatory considerations, and the board’s discretion. The company wrote: “While we have historically paid dividends to holders of our common stock on a quarterly basis, the declaration and payment of future dividends will depend on many factors, including, but not limited to, our earnings, financial condition, business development needs and regulatory considerations, and are at the discretion of our Board of Directors.” That language applies the central principle to every Dividend King: past payments do not create a contractual promise.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Procter & Gamble

Procter & Gamble’s 70-year streak is longer than J&J’s current 64-year record, but the longer streak does not reveal its valuation, payout coverage, input-cost exposure, currency effects, or category competition. Those variables must be measured from the same-date financial statements and market price used for the other companies.

A repeatable J&J-versus-peer comparison process

  1. Set one market date. Record each closing share price on the same date and state the currency and exchange.
  2. Record the latest declared regular dividend. Capture the declaration date, quarterly amount, annualized amount, ex-dividend date, and payment date. Do not mix an indicated forward rate with prior-year cash paid.
  3. Calculate indicated yield. Divide each annualized dividend by its share price on the market date.
  4. Calculate five- and ten-year dividend growth. Use the same annualization method and exclude special dividends unless every company is treated identically.
  5. Build two payout ratios. Divide dividends by GAAP earnings and by free cash flow for the same period; show the numerator, denominator, and period.
  6. Review the balance sheet. Compare cash, total debt, net debt, interest expense, maturities, and available liquidity. Note acquisitions or settlements that changed leverage.
  7. Read the risk disclosures. For J&J, focus on legal obligations, patents, generic and biosimilar competition, pipeline execution, and acquisition commitments. Apply equivalent company-specific tests to peers.
  8. Choose a valuation measure. Use a common-date price-to-earnings, price-to-free-cash-flow, dividend-yield comparison, or enterprise-value measure, and state whether earnings are GAAP, adjusted, forward, or trailing.
  9. Stress-test the dividend. Ask what happens if earnings fall, free cash flow contracts, debt costs rise, a settlement is paid, or a major product loses exclusivity.
  10. Match the result to your objective. Income stability, inflation protection, growth, capital preservation, and total return can produce different choices.

Common comparison mistakes

  • Ranking by streak alone: a 70-year record does not automatically beat a 64-year record.
  • Comparing yields from different dates: market prices move every trading day, so the ranking can be an artifact of timing.
  • Calling a high yield “safer”: a falling price can inflate yield while signaling business stress.
  • Confusing cash paid with annualized dividend: J&J’s $5.14 paid in 2025 is not the same measure as its $5.36 indicated rate after the April 2026 increase.
  • Using unmatched payout ratios: GAAP earnings, adjusted earnings, and free cash flow can produce materially different results.
  • Ignoring capital needs: research, factories, acquisitions, settlements, and debt repayments compete with dividends for cash.
  • Treating board policy as a guarantee: every future distribution remains subject to the board and the company’s financial condition.
  • Assuming a long streak means high real income growth: small increases may preserve the record while failing to keep pace with inflation.

What would make J&J look stronger or weaker in a full comparison?

Evidence that would strengthen the case

  • Free cash flow consistently exceeding regular dividends after necessary capital spending.
  • Stable or declining net debt, ample liquidity, and manageable maturities.
  • Dividend growth that supports purchasing power without pushing payout ratios higher.
  • Pharmaceutical and medical-technology growth that offsets patent losses and legal cash outflows.
  • A valuation that is reasonable relative to comparable quality and growth, measured on the same date.

Evidence that would weaken the case

  • Repeated free-cash-flow shortfalls or coverage that depends on borrowing.
  • Rapidly rising leverage, expensive maturities, or shrinking liquidity.
  • Large legal payments, patent expirations, or pipeline setbacks that reduce recurring cash generation.
  • Dividend growth below inflation for an extended period without a compensatingly attractive valuation.
  • A share price that embeds optimistic assumptions and leaves little margin for execution mistakes.

Bottom line for an investor comparing J&J with Dividend Kings

J&J’s 64 consecutive increases and $5.36 indicated annual dividend as of April 14, 2026 make it a serious candidate for a dividend-focused watchlist. Coca-Cola’s matching 64-year streak and Procter & Gamble’s 70-year streak show why the label cannot settle the comparison. Decide only after measuring same-date yield and valuation, five- and ten-year growth, earnings and free-cash-flow coverage, debt and liquidity, and each company’s specific business risks. Dividends are board decisions rather than guaranteed payments, and the right choice depends on your income needs, risk tolerance, tax position, diversification, and expected total return.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More guides

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.