Hardware FixRecommendedDevice not working? Your driver may be the problemCheck updates for common hardware issues.Fix DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsSlow PC?RecommendedPC slow today? Run a repair scan before it gets worseResolve common Windows issues and optimize system performance.Scan Now×
Skip to the guide
THE FINANCEBASE List yours

Guide

How to Compare Indian FD Rates by Maturity Amount, Tenure and Payout Frequency (2026 Guide)

By TheFinanceBase Team 10 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The “best” fixed-deposit rate depends on four inputs: your principal and applicable slab, the exact tenure, your depositor category, and whether interest is reinvested or paid out. Add liquidity terms, tax treatment and the rate’s effective date before comparing maturity values. A reliable comparison uses each bank’s current official rate table and calculator with identical assumptions.

What a like-for-like FD comparison includes

Two advertisements can show different percentages yet produce a misleading comparison if they apply to different deposit sizes, tenures or customer categories. Record these fields for every offer:

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

  • Principal and slab: retail, bulk or another amount band.
  • Exact term: days or months, not merely “one year” or “three years”.
  • Depositor category: regular customer, senior citizen or another eligible category.
  • Payout mode: cumulative/reinvestment, monthly, quarterly or another periodic option.
  • Liquidity: callable or non-callable, premature-closure rules and penalty.
  • Rate date: the date on which the quoted rate became effective.
  • Result: periodic cash received or principal plus interest payable at maturity.

Only after these assumptions match should you compare the quoted rate or estimated proceeds.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why the deposit amount changes the rate

Retail and bulk slabs are separate products

Banks commonly publish one table for retail deposits and another for larger deposits. Central Bank of India’s domestic term-deposit table, for example, separates deposits below ₹3 crore from deposits of ₹3 crore to ₹10 crore and other larger categories. A percentage displayed in a bulk section does not automatically apply to a retail deposit. The page labels its retail rates as effective 10 August 2026, while some large-deposit headings show “DATE_PLACEHOLDER”; treat those undated bulk figures as unconfirmed until the bank supplies a clear effective date.

Use the slab that contains your principal

Enter the exact amount you intend to book and identify the corresponding band. Do not assume that placing ₹2.99 crore and ₹3 crore earns the same rate, or that splitting a larger sum into several receipts preserves the bulk rate. Ask the bank how linked receipts are classified and whether the slab is determined per receipt or by an aggregate relationship.

Tenure is more than a rounded label

Match the exact days or months

Rate tables usually divide terms into buckets such as 7–14 days, 15–45 days, one year to under two years, two years to under three years, and five years to ten years. A deposit booked for 365 days may be treated differently from one booked for 12 months if the bank’s terms define those periods differently. Enter the intended start date, maturity date and number of days in the calculator.

Special-tenure offers need their own row

A bank may quote a promotional rate for a particular number of days, such as 400 or 444, that does not represent its ordinary one-year or three-year bucket. Label that offer by its exact tenor. Do not place it beside a standard one-year rate without explaining that the terms are different.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Dated illustration: Central Bank of India

For deposits below ₹3 crore and general customers, Central Bank of India lists 6.10% per annum for one year to under two years and 6.25% per annum for two years to under three years, effective 10 August 2026. These figures illustrate why the bucket matters; they are not a market-wide ranking or a recommendation. The same page lists separate rates for senior citizens.

Illustrative field 1 year to under 2 years 2 years to under 3 years
Bank Central Bank of India Central Bank of India
Principal slab Below ₹3 crore Below ₹3 crore
Customer category General customer General customer
Rate effective date 10 August 2026 10 August 2026
Quoted annual rate 6.10% 6.25%
What is not shown here Compounding frequency, payout choice, maturity date and premature-closure outcome must be confirmed for the booking.

Payout frequency changes both cash flow and the calculation

Cumulative or reinvestment FD

With a cumulative deposit, interest remains in the account and is added according to the bank’s compounding schedule. You generally receive the principal plus accumulated interest at maturity. This is the relevant option when your goal is the largest end-of-term proceeds and you do not need interim income.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

Monthly or quarterly payout FD

A periodic-payout deposit sends interest to your chosen account during the term. The principal normally remains locked until maturity. Because interest is not left in the deposit to earn further interest, the maturity principal is usually separate from the cash you already received. Banks may calculate periodic interest on a simple-interest basis and apply a discount to monthly payouts. IDFC FIRST Bank describes short-term and monthly/quarterly payout deposits as simple-interest calculations and reinvestment deposits as compound interest; it also states that monthly payout is discounted. Federal Bank similarly describes monthly payout as a discounted rate.

How to compare the outcomes

Keep two totals separate:

  • Cash during the term: every monthly or quarterly credit, net of any stated discount or deduction.
  • Amount at maturity: the principal and any interest still retained in the deposit.

Do not compare a monthly-income FD’s final principal with a cumulative FD’s maturity value as though both represent the entire return. If you need income, compare periodic cash flow and the maturity principal. If you want maximum maturity proceeds, compare reinvestment deposits for the same principal, category and duration.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

A transparent calculation example

Suppose ₹10,00,000 is placed for one year at a quoted annual rate of 6%. A simple annualized interest illustration is ₹60,000 (₹10,00,000 × 6%), but the bank’s actual periodic payout can be lower when it applies a monthly discount or a different day-count convention. A cumulative deposit can finish with more than ₹10,60,000 if the bank compounds during the year. Use the bank’s calculator for the exact schedule rather than converting a quoted rate into a guaranteed maturity figure.

Build a comparison table before choosing

Create one row per actual offer. The following structure prevents a headline rate from hiding a different condition:

Bank and product Rate effective date Principal and slab Exact tenure and maturity date Customer category Callable status and early withdrawal terms Payout mode Quoted rate Estimated result Calculator assumptions and tax exclusions
Offer A Day/month/year Amount and band Days or months; date Regular, senior citizen, etc. Callable/non-callable; penalty wording Cumulative, monthly or quarterly Annual percentage Periodic cash or maturity proceeds Booking date, compounding and exclusions
Offer B Day/month/year Amount and band Days or months; date Same category where possible Same fields Same mode where possible Annual percentage Same result measure Same assumptions

If a value is not stated by the bank, write “not stated” and obtain clarification; do not fill the cell with an estimate.

Use bank calculators without losing the assumptions

Inputs that materially change the result

HDFC Bank’s calculator interface accepts the amount, tenure, customer type, booking date and deposit type, and displays an approximate maturity amount. The interface exposed an input range of ₹5,000 to ₹2,99,99,999 when accessed in 2026; that is a calculator-interface range, not a universal FD minimum or maximum. The calculator notes that its approximate maturity amount excludes TDS.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
  1. Open the bank’s current FD calculator and rate table on the same day.
  2. Enter the exact principal, including whether the amount is below or above a slab threshold.
  3. Select the correct customer category and deposit type.
  4. Enter the proposed booking date and exact tenure; record the resulting maturity date.
  5. Select cumulative, monthly or quarterly payout and note any discount shown for periodic payouts.
  6. Save the displayed rate, maturity estimate and every assumption, including the statement that tax is excluded.
  7. Repeat the process for each bank using identical inputs before comparing results.

Calculators are estimates until the bank confirms the booking terms. ICICI Bank states that FD rates can change without prior notice and advises checking current rates. Recheck immediately before placing the deposit and retain the confirmation or advice showing the final rate.

Which FD gives the highest maturity amount?

The answer is the offer that produces the highest comparable maturity proceeds after matching principal, exact duration, customer category and payout mode. A higher annual percentage on a longer term is not automatically better if you need the money earlier. A periodic-payout product can appear to have a lower maturity amount simply because part of its interest was already paid to you.

For a maximum-maturity objective, compare cumulative deposits with the same principal and end date. Record the bank’s compounding frequency and use its maturity estimate. For a monthly-income objective, compare the total periodic credits, any stated discount, the maturity principal and the conditions for closing early. Keep gross estimates separate from tax effects because the cited calculators do not establish your final tax liability.

Liquidity: callable, non-callable and premature closure

Understand the withdrawal facility

Callable deposits permit premature closure subject to the bank’s rules. Non-callable deposits restrict access until maturity, usually in exchange for a different rate or pricing. The product disclosure should state whether premature closure is available and how the bank recalculates interest.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

RBI rule for individual domestic term deposits

An RBI circular dated 26 October 2023, issued by Chief General Manager Sunil T. S. Nair, states: “all domestic term deposits accepted from individuals for amount of Rupees one crore and below shall have premature-withdrawal-facility”. The sentence appears in the circular’s amended non-callable-deposit rule. It does not mean every FD can be closed without conditions or penalty. Check the current RBI Master Direction and the rules for the relevant institution type before relying on the threshold.

Penalty and recalculated interest

RBI directions allow banks to set a premature-closure penalty and require disclosure. Interest is generally recalculated for the period the money actually remained with the bank, using the applicable rate for that shorter period, and then reduced by the stated penalty where applicable. ICICI Bank publishes separate penalty slabs and explains that early-withdrawal interest is based on the rate for the actual period and may be reduced by a penalty. IDFC FIRST Bank describes a 1% penalty for the deposits covered by its terms. These are bank-specific examples, not a universal penalty.

Before selecting a marginally higher rate, ask how much access you may need. If an emergency withdrawal is plausible, compare the likely penalty and the shorter-period rate, not just the advertised maturity amount.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Tax and deposit insurance require separate checks

The calculators cited here may exclude TDS, and the available material does not establish a current TDS threshold or your final income-tax result. Tax depends on the applicable law, your total interest and personal circumstances. Verify the current rule with the Income Tax Department or a qualified tax professional before calculating net returns.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Deposit insurance limits and eligibility also require confirmation from the responsible official source and may depend on how deposits are held and which institution accepts them. Do not treat a bank’s rate page or calculator as evidence of insurance coverage.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

A step-by-step FD comparison workflow

  1. Define the goal. Choose maximum maturity proceeds, regular income or a balance between return and access.
  2. Fix the principal. Decide the amount and identify whether each bank treats it as retail, bulk or another slab.
  3. Fix the customer category. Use the same regular or senior-citizen status for every offer.
  4. Fix the time horizon. Set the exact booking date, maturity date and number of days or months.
  5. Choose the payout mode. Compare cumulative with cumulative, or monthly with monthly; do not mix the result measures.
  6. Collect dated rates. Record the effective date and separate ordinary buckets from special-tenure offers.
  7. Run each official calculator. Save the assumptions, estimated result and tax-exclusion note.
  8. Check liquidity. Read callable status, premature-closure facility, recalculation method and penalty.
  9. Calculate the decision result. For income, total periodic cash plus maturity principal; for accumulation, use the maturity proceeds of reinvestment deposits.
  10. Reconfirm at booking. Rates can change, so verify the final advice and maturity date immediately before funding.

Common comparison mistakes and fixes

Comparing a retail rate with a bulk rate

Problem: the displayed percentage belongs to a different principal band.
Fix: place the exact amount and slab in the table and obtain a dated quote for that band.

Using “one year” for different tenors

Problem: a 365-day term, 12-month term and special 400-day offer are treated as identical.
Fix: record exact days, maturity date and bucket.

Ranking monthly payout by maturity value alone

Problem: interest already paid out is omitted from the comparison.
Fix: show periodic cash and maturity principal as separate columns.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Assuming the rate is locked before booking

Problem: a saved webpage no longer reflects the rate on the funding date.
Fix: retain the effective date and final deposit advice.

Ignoring early-closure economics

Problem: the highest headline rate loses its advantage after a penalty and shorter-period recalculation.
Fix: model the earliest date you might need the money and read the product’s penalty schedule.

Treating a calculator estimate as a tax-adjusted return

Problem: an approximate gross maturity amount is mistaken for the amount you keep.
Fix: label it gross, note the calculator’s exclusions and verify tax separately.

Decision framework for different objectives

If you need the largest amount at a known future date

  • Use cumulative or reinvestment deposits.
  • Match the same principal, customer category and end date.
  • Compare compounding assumptions and the bank’s maturity estimate.
  • Confirm that the rate applies to your amount slab on the booking date.

If you need monthly income

  • Compare monthly-payout products with the same principal and term.
  • Record the bank’s discounted monthly rate or calculation method.
  • Compare net periodic cash flow and the principal returned at maturity.
  • Check whether premature closure would stop or reduce the expected income.

If access to the money is uncertain

  • Prefer a callable product only after reading its penalty and recalculation rules.
  • Compare the cost of an early withdrawal with the extra interest from a less-liquid offer.
  • Keep an emergency reserve outside the FD if locking the full principal would create a cash-flow risk.

Scope and date limits

This method is for domestic Indian bank FDs. NRE and NRO deposits, corporate deposits, NBFC public deposits, tax-saving FDs and products in other jurisdictions can have different eligibility, tax, insurance, liquidity and regulatory rules. Bank rate pages change, and a chart containing an undated or malformed entry should not be used until the bank confirms the figure.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More guides

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.