Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteWindows Errors? Fix Them Before They Spread
Repair common Windows errors and clear accumulated junk for a smoother, more stable PC - no reinstall needed.Free scan · no reinstallThe right Aeroplan credit card depends on two calculations: how much eligible spending you can put on the card, and which travel benefits you will actually use. Premium cards can earn Status Qualifying Credits (SQC) four times faster than base cards, but their higher annual fees only make sense if the SQC, bags, priority services, lounge access, companion benefits, or other inclusions fit your trips. The figures below are Canadian issuer terms shown on pages accessed October 13, 2026; several changes have been announced for 2027.
What you are choosing: rewards versus Aeroplan status
An Aeroplan card can provide redeemable Aeroplan points and travel benefits, but the status-related feature to compare is Status Qualifying Credits (SQC). SQC help measure progress toward Aeroplan Elite Status; they are not points and cannot be redeemed for flights, hotels, or merchandise. Card-earned SQC are one possible part of a status strategy, not a guarantee that you will reach or retain a particular status level.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
The most important difference between the cards covered here is the eligible-spend threshold for SQC. The cited base cards award 1,000 SQC for each $20,000 of eligible spending. The cited premium cards award 1,000 SQC for each $5,000 of eligible net purchases. All of the applicable American Express and TD terms describe a combined maximum of 25,000 SQC earned through Aeroplan credit-card benefits per Aeroplan member per calendar year. That is a member-level ceiling across cards and issuers; it does not cap SQC earned through other qualifying activities.
How card-earned SQC works
Compare the spend threshold, not just the headline fee
At the published rates, a premium card reaches 1,000 SQC after $5,000 of eligible net purchases, while a base card needs $20,000. If every dollar of your projected spend qualifies and you have not already earned card SQC, the arithmetic looks like this:
#1 Best Overall
| Eligible card spend in a calendar year | Base rate: 1,000 SQC per $20,000 | Premium rate: 1,000 SQC per $5,000 |
|---|---|---|
| $5,000 | Not enough for a 1,000-SQC increment | 1,000 SQC |
| $20,000 | 1,000 SQC | 4,000 SQC |
| $50,000 | 2,000 SQC | 10,000 SQC |
| $100,000 | 5,000 SQC | 20,000 SQC |
| $125,000 | 6,000 SQC before the shared cap is applied | 25,000 SQC, reaching the stated card-earned maximum |
This table is an illustration of the published increments, not a promise that every purchase qualifies. The issuer defines eligible or eligible net purchases, and returns, credits, excluded transactions, posting dates, and other conditions can affect the result. Read the current card terms before projecting SQC.
The 25,000-SQC member cap
American Express and TD state that applicable Aeroplan credit-card benefits can provide no more than 25,000 SQC per member per calendar year. Holding two cards does not create a second 25,000-SQC allowance. For example, once your combined card benefits have produced 25,000 SQC, additional eligible card spend cannot create more card-earned SQC during that calendar year, although other forms of status qualification are outside this specific card cap.
The cap makes a premium card especially powerful for a moderate-to-high spender who is pursuing status, but it also limits the value of paying for multiple premium cards solely for SQC. If your normal spending is $10,000 a year, the premium rate could produce 2,000 SQC; a base card would not reach its first 1,000-SQC threshold at the published rate. If your spending is $200,000, the premium card’s theoretical 40,000 SQC is still limited to the 25,000 card-earned maximum, assuming all of the spending is eligible and no other card-earned SQC has already been credited.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Current Canadian card examples
The following fees and SQC rates are the examples listed by the issuers on pages accessed October 13, 2026. Annual fees are for the primary card unless the issuer says otherwise; additional-card fees and approval criteria are not stated in the cited material and must be checked in the application terms.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
| Issuer and card | Annual fee shown in 2026 | Published card-earned SQC rate | Travel features highlighted by the cited terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| American Express Aeroplan Card | $120 | 1,000 SQC per $20,000 of eligible spend | Free first checked bag on eligible Air Canada flights; terms and eligibility apply |
| American Express Aeroplan Reserve Card | $599 | 1,000 SQC per $5,000 of eligible spend | Free first checked bag plus specified priority, Maple Leaf Lounge access, and companion benefits; terms and eligibility apply |
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite | $139 | 1,000 SQC per $20,000 of eligible spend | Review the current TD benefit schedule for the exact travel inclusions and restrictions |
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege | $599 | 1,000 SQC per $5,000 of eligible net purchases | Premium travel and status benefits are subject to TD’s current terms |
| CIBC Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege | Not stated in the cited material | 1,000 SQC per $5,000 of eligible net purchases | Check the current CIBC application and benefit terms; the cited page does not provide a complete cross-issuer fee comparison |
The $599 price appears for both cited premium American Express and TD cards in the 2026 examples, but identical fees do not mean identical lounge, priority, insurance, companion, earning, or eligibility terms. Compare the benefits line by line rather than treating the products as interchangeable.
Announced changes for 2027
If you apply before 2027, separate the terms available on the day you apply from terms that have only been announced for a future date. An issuer can apply different rules to existing accounts, new applications, renewals, or transactions posted after an effective date.
| Card or issuer | Announced change | Date or qualification stated | What to verify |
|---|---|---|---|
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite | Annual fee announced to increase to $159 | January 25, 2027 for existing accounts, according to TD’s stated timeline | Whether the fee applies to your renewal cycle and which benefits change on January 12, 2027 |
| TD Aeroplan Visa Infinite Privilege | Annual fee announced to increase to $699 | January 25, 2027 for existing accounts, according to TD’s stated timeline | Renewal treatment, the January 12 benefit changes, and eligibility for the head-start provision |
| TD Visa Infinite Privilege | 10% SQC head-start benefit for qualifying members holding 25K or higher status | Announced for 2027; the cited terms do not make this a universal benefit for every member | The exact eligibility test, enrollment or account requirements, and how the head start interacts with your status year |
| American Express Aeroplan cards | Fee and SQC-related changes announced for 2027 | Future effective details must be confirmed in the current American Express notice and card terms | The precise effective date, whether it applies to existing accounts, and the revised SQC mechanics |
| CIBC Visa Infinite Privilege | 10% SQC head start for qualifying 25K-or-higher members | Beginning January 1, 2027, according to the cited CIBC page | Current fee, qualifying status definition, registration requirements, and any account-date restrictions |
Do not add a future fee to a current-year comparison without labeling it. Conversely, do not use a current fee to estimate a full year of ownership if your renewal will occur after the announced effective date.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Match the card to your travel habits
Occasional Air Canada traveler
If you take only one or two eligible Air Canada trips and rarely check a bag, a premium card’s $599 annual fee may be difficult to justify on travel benefits alone. A base card’s lower fee can be more sensible when your eligible spending is below the $20,000 SQC threshold and you do not use premium airport services. Value the free first bag only when you would otherwise pay for that bag on eligible flights and the benefit covers the people and bookings permitted by the terms.
Rank #3
Frequent traveler who checks bags
Free first-bag coverage can have practical value for someone who regularly checks luggage on eligible Air Canada flights. American Express lists that benefit on both the Aeroplan Card and the Reserve card. The benefit is not a blanket waiver for every airline, fare, route, passenger, or booking: confirm the eligible flight and cardholder conditions before assigning it a dollar value.
Status-focused traveler
Start with your expected status target and the SQC gap you need to close. A premium rate can reach that gap with substantially less spending, but only if your purchases are eligible and the resulting SQC arrive in the period that matters for your status. The 25,000-SQC member cap means that switching between several Aeroplan cards cannot increase the annual card-earned ceiling.
Priority and lounge user
American Express’s comparison identifies Reserve-tier priority services and Maple Leaf Lounge access in addition to the checked-bag benefit. These features can be valuable to someone who spends time at airports on routes and fares covered by the terms. A traveler who rarely visits participating airports should not pay for lounge access simply because it is included. Check guest rules, access conditions, operating hours, and exclusions in the current benefit guide; the cited material does not establish a universal guest allowance.
Recommended Free Tools
Companion-pass user
A companion benefit matters only when you can meet its spending or account conditions and can realistically use it before its expiry. Estimate the value from a trip you are likely to take, not from a theoretical maximum fare. Confirm eligible destinations, booking classes, taxes, fees, travel dates, and whether the benefit is issued automatically or requires registration. The existence of a companion benefit does not guarantee that a seat will be available when you want to travel.
Rank #4
A step-by-step way to choose
- Define the status objective. Write down your current status, the status level you are targeting, and the SQC amount you still need. Treat card SQC as one contribution, not a guarantee of qualification.
- Forecast eligible card spend. Use a conservative 12-month estimate based on recurring bills, groceries, travel, and business or household expenses that you are allowed to charge. Remove purchases that the issuer’s definition excludes and do not count spending you would make only to chase a bonus.
- Apply the published rate. Divide projected eligible spend by $20,000 for a base-rate card or by $5,000 for a premium-rate card, using the issuer’s stated increment rules. Then reduce the result if you have already earned card SQC on another Aeroplan card.
- Apply the member-level cap. Limit the combined card-earned result to 25,000 SQC in the calendar year under the cited American Express and TD terms. Do not subtract SQC earned through other qualification activities unless the applicable status rules specifically require it.
- List benefits you will actually use. Count eligible first bags, priority services, lounge visits, companion benefits, and other inclusions only when your travel pattern meets their conditions. Leave a benefit at zero if you would not otherwise buy or use it.
- Subtract the annual fee and future increases. Compare your estimated usable benefit and status utility with the current fee, then repeat the calculation using any announced renewal fee that could apply during your holding period.
- Check eligibility and payment behavior. Review income, residency, credit, and account requirements in the live application. If you expect to carry a balance, investigate the card’s interest cost separately; a rewards card can be poor value when interest charges outweigh benefits.
- Confirm the terms immediately before applying. Product pages, insurance certificates, SQC definitions, and effective dates can change. Save the version and date of the terms that govern your application and renewal.
Putting the fee and SQC math together
Consider three hypothetical spending patterns. A traveler charging $12,000 of eligible purchases would theoretically earn 2,000 SQC at the premium rate but would not reach 1,000 SQC at the base rate. That does not automatically justify a $599 fee: the traveler must also use enough bags, lounge access, priority services, or other benefits to cover the difference between the premium and base fees.
A traveler charging $40,000 would theoretically earn 8,000 SQC on a premium card and 2,000 SQC on a base card. The premium card provides a 6,000-SQC advantage before the shared cap, so it may be compelling for someone close to a status threshold. It may still be wasteful for someone who cannot use the status benefits or whose spending would be better placed on a card with a lower fee and unrelated rewards.
A traveler charging $150,000 on one premium card would reach the 25,000-SQC card-earned cap after $125,000 of eligible purchases under the published rate. The final $25,000 of spending would not create additional card-earned SQC under that cap. At that point, select a card based on travel benefits, insurance, points earning, acceptance, and fee rather than assuming another Aeroplan card will accelerate status further.
Do not assign a fixed cash price to Aeroplan points in this calculation. Redemption value varies by itinerary, availability, taxes, and the redemption option, and no universal valuation is established by the cited terms. Use a realistic trip you would book and compare the card’s incremental benefit with the fee instead of counting points at an assumed rate.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Common mistakes and how to avoid them
- Confusing SQC with points: SQC support status progress; they are not a redeemable balance.
- Ignoring the shared cap: Multiple cards do not provide multiple 25,000-SQC allowances per member.
- Using gross rather than eligible net spend: The premium TD terms specifically refer to eligible net purchases. Use the issuer’s definition, not your statement total.
- Assuming every flight receives a free bag: The cited bag benefit is tied to eligible Air Canada flights and conditions.
- Paying for lounge access you will not use: Count visits on your actual routes, including any access restrictions.
- Treating an announced change as current: Keep January 2027 fee and benefit changes separate from October 2026 terms.
- Relying on a companion benefit without checking availability: Confirm booking, travel-date, destination, and expiry rules before counting its value.
- Spending to manufacture status: Never buy unneeded goods or carry debt merely to cross an SQC threshold.
- Comparing fees without checking renewal timing: A $599 fee shown today may not be the fee charged at your next anniversary after a published increase.
What to verify on the application page
Before submitting an application, confirm the card’s current annual fee, any additional-card fee, the SQC earning statement, the calendar-year cap, and the definition of eligible purchases. Read the benefit certificates for checked bags, airport priority, lounge access, companion benefits, insurance, and redemption privileges. Verify whether the primary cardholder must be traveling, whether authorized users receive access, and which fare or booking channels qualify.
Also check the account-opening and renewal dates against the announced 2027 changes. For TD cards, the cited timeline separates January 12, 2027 benefit changes from January 25, 2027 fee increases. For the CIBC head start, the cited terms specify January 1, 2027 for qualifying 25K-or-higher members. American Express has announced 2027 changes but the exact effective details must be confirmed in the applicable notice. Keep those dates with your personal fee calculation.
A conditional recommendation
Choose a base card when your eligible spending is unlikely to reach the $20,000 threshold, your trips do not use premium airport services, and a lower annual fee is the priority. Choose a premium card when you can put substantial eligible spending on it, need SQC acceleration, and will use enough eligible bags, lounge access, priority services, companion benefits, or other features to justify the fee. Choose among premium cards by comparing the exact benefits and future terms, not by assuming that the highest fee produces the highest value.
The strongest decision is the one that still works under a conservative spending forecast and your real travel calendar. If the card would require debt, speculative trips, or spending beyond the 25,000-SQC cap to appear worthwhile, select a lower-cost option or postpone the application until the economics are clear.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




