What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
There is no single winner. A cash-light retailer or sole proprietor should first compare Axis Bank’s Normal or Liberty Digital account with HDFC Bank’s Professionals account. A business with larger, fluctuating cash receipts should compare Axis Select with HDFC Activ or Ascent, because those products calculate cash capacity as a multiple of average balance rather than using only a fixed allowance.
The decisive differences are the balance-measurement period (Axis commonly uses monthly average balance, or MAB; HDFC commonly uses average quarterly balance, or AQB), cash-deposit formula, legal form, branch location, and need for digital collections. The figures below are from product and fee pages available in 2026; banks can revise fees, limits, eligibility and scheme codes, so obtain the current schedule of charges before opening the account.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Quick comparison
| Account | Best fit | Balance requirement | Stated cash-deposit rule | Notable digital or service feature |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Axis Normal Current Account | Retailers and small businesses with predictable cash receipts | ₹15,000 MAB in metro/urban branches; ₹7,500 in semi-urban/rural branches | ₹2 lakh per month | Unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS; unlimited cash withdrawal at the home branch |
| Axis Liberty Digital Current Account | Sole proprietorships that operate primarily through digital channels | ₹10,000 MAB in metro/urban locations; ₹5,000 in semi-urban/rural locations; the product page also states an alternative non-cash-credit condition | The supplied product description does not state a comparable cash-deposit figure | Digital account-opening orientation; confirm the alternative condition and transaction schedule with Axis |
| Axis Select Current Account | Registered small businesses and other entities with higher or variable cash flow | ₹50,000 MAB | Up to 10 times MAB, capped at ₹50 lakh | Unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS |
| HDFC Current Account for Professionals | Eligible professionals and smaller practices | ₹10,000 AQB | Free combined cash deposits up to ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions, whichever is reached first | Excess cash-deposit fee of ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 per transaction |
| HDFC Activ Current Account | Retail businesses and merchants | ₹10,000 AQB | Cash deposits and withdrawals up to 10 times current-month AMB, capped at ₹50 crore | Excess cash-deposit fee of ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50, on the stated fee page |
| HDFC Ascent Current Account | Businesses with substantial or variable cash movement | ₹50,000 AQB in metro/urban locations; ₹25,000 in semi-urban/rural locations | Cash deposits up to 10 times current-month AMB, capped at ₹50 crore | ₹3,000 quarterly non-maintenance charge; excess cash-deposit fee of ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 |
| HDFC EZEE Current Account | Businesses needing a formula-based allowance with a lower floor | The supplied fee description does not state an AQB figure | Higher of ₹4 lakh and six times current-month AMB, or 25 transactions, capped at ₹50 lakh | Excess cash-deposit fee of ₹4 per ₹1,000, minimum ₹50 |
“MAB” and “AQB” are not interchangeable. MAB evaluates average balances over a month; AQB evaluates the average over a quarter. A business can meet the rupee figure but still incur a charge if its balance dips during the relevant measurement period.
Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
How the balance requirement works
Axis: monthly average balance
Axis’s Normal, Liberty Digital and Select descriptions use MAB. The account is therefore judged month by month. Normal requires ₹15,000 in metro and urban branches and ₹7,500 in semi-urban and rural branches. Liberty Digital lowers those figures to ₹10,000 and ₹5,000 respectively. Select lists ₹50,000 MAB without the same location split in the supplied description.
#1 Best Overall
MAB rewards a steady operating balance. Moving money out immediately after collections can lower the month’s average even if the account briefly held more than the threshold. Ask the branch or relationship manager how the bank treats the opening and closing days of a month, because the exact calculation convention is part of the account’s schedule of charges.
HDFC: average quarterly balance
HDFC’s Professionals, Activ and Ascent descriptions use AQB. Professionals lists ₹10,000 AQB. Activ also lists ₹10,000 AQB. Ascent requires ₹50,000 AQB in metro and urban locations and ₹25,000 in semi-urban and rural locations.
AQBs are assessed over a quarter rather than a single month. This can suit a seasonal business that keeps a higher balance during part of the quarter, but a long low-balance period can still produce a non-maintenance charge. HDFC’s published quarterly charges are ₹1,500 for Professionals and ₹3,000 for Activ and Ascent on the fee pages effective June 1, 2026. The supplied description does not state an Activ location-specific AQB or an EZEE AQB; obtain those details for the exact scheme code.
Cash-deposit capacity and the cost of going over it
Fixed allowance: Axis Normal and HDFC Professionals
Axis Normal publishes a ₹2 lakh monthly cash-deposit limit. This is easy to budget for when receipts are stable, but it can be restrictive for a shop that has occasional high-cash days.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
HDFC Professionals publishes free combined cash deposits up to ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions, whichever is breached first. “Combined” refers to the cash-deposit allowance stated on the product page; do not assume that a separate withdrawal allowance is included. If a business deposits ₹10 lakh in 10 transactions, the rupee ceiling is used. If it makes 25 deposits totaling less than ₹10 lakh, the transaction ceiling is used.
Balance-linked allowance: Axis Select, HDFC Activ and HDFC Ascent
Axis Select allows cash deposits up to 10 times MAB, subject to a ₹50 lakh cap. At the minimum stated MAB of ₹50,000, the formula produces ₹5 lakh of capacity; maintaining a higher MAB increases the formula amount until the cap is reached.
HDFC Activ allows cash deposits and withdrawals up to 10 times current-month AMB, with a ₹50 crore upper cap. HDFC Ascent states a cash-deposit allowance of 10 times current-month AMB, also capped at ₹50 crore. Because the allowance references the current month’s AMB, the amount can change as the month progresses. A business should model its lowest expected AMB, not its best day’s balance.
Recommended Free Tools
EZEE’s hybrid formula
HDFC EZEE states that the free cash-deposit limit is the higher of ₹4 lakh and six times current-month AMB, or 25 transactions, capped at ₹50 lakh. This structure creates a ₹4 lakh floor, then increases capacity when six times AMB is higher, while the transaction-count alternative can become the binding limit.
Rank #3
Excess-deposit fees
HDFC Professionals, Activ and Ascent list an excess cash-deposit charge of ₹4 per ₹1,000, with a ₹50 minimum per transaction. The same rate and minimum are stated for EZEE. At the published rate, ₹20,000 of excess cash would produce ₹80 before any other applicable service charge. A small excess transaction can still attract the ₹50 minimum.
The supplied Axis product descriptions give the Normal and Select cash limits but do not state a comparable excess-deposit tariff. Request the current Axis cash-handling schedule for the exact branch and scheme before comparing total cost.
Digital payments, collections and banking access
Axis capabilities
Axis Normal and Select advertise unlimited digital NEFT and RTGS. Normal also states unlimited cash withdrawal at the home branch. These features suit a business that receives cash at one operating location but pays suppliers and staff electronically. The Axis catalogue also promotes digital account opening and multiple current-account tiers.
Liberty Digital is positioned for sole proprietorships. Its page shows different MAB requirements by location and an alternative non-cash-credit condition, so a proprietor should verify which condition applies before relying on the lower balance figure.
Rank #4
HDFC capabilities
HDFC’s current-account catalogue describes fund transfers, dynamic limits, digital collections and payments across its range. Those are catalogue-level capabilities; availability, limits and pricing can vary by product and customer profile. A merchant should ask whether the account supports the required QR, payment-gateway, card-settlement or bulk-payment workflow and whether those services have separate rental or transaction fees.
For both banks, confirm mobile and net-banking user limits, maker-checker approval, bulk-upload formats, beneficiary cooling periods, daily transfer ceilings and the treatment of failed or reversed transactions. “Unlimited” digital NEFT/RTGS does not necessarily mean every channel or ancillary service is free.
Eligibility and business form
Sole proprietorships and professionals
Liberty Digital is specifically described as a sole-proprietorship product. HDFC Professionals is aimed at eligible professionals and practices. A proprietor should carry the business registration, tax identification, address proof and proprietor identity documents the bank requests, and should confirm whether the activity qualifies as a professional practice or a general trade.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Retailers and merchants
Axis Normal is designed for retailers and small businesses. HDFC Activ is described as having a retail-business and merchant focus. Compare not only the cash ceiling but also cash-pickup availability, point-of-sale settlement timing, QR or card acceptance, and whether merchant services are bundled or billed separately.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Partnerships, private companies and other entities
Axis Select is described for registered small businesses and other entities, while Axis distinguishes individuals and sole proprietorship entities from other entity types in its product information. HDFC’s catalogue states that its range serves micro, small, medium and large organisations, but each scheme still has its own documentation and eligibility rules. Partnerships and private limited companies should obtain written confirmation of the permitted constitution, authorised-signatory rules and board or partnership-resolution requirements.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Which account fits common SME situations?
| Business situation | Shortlist | Why | Check before opening |
|---|---|---|---|
| Small shop with less than ₹2 lakh monthly cash deposits | Axis Normal | Clear ₹2 lakh monthly cash limit, lower rural/semi-urban MAB, unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS and home-branch cash withdrawal | Axis excess-cash tariff, non-home cash rules and merchant-service pricing |
| Sole proprietor with mostly digital receipts | Axis Liberty Digital or HDFC Professionals | Liberty Digital has lower location-based MAB figures; Professionals has a ₹10,000 AQB and a large stated cash allowance | Liberty’s alternative non-cash-credit condition and HDFC professional eligibility |
| Professional practice with occasional cash | HDFC Professionals | ₹10,000 AQB and free cash deposits up to ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions | Whether the business qualifies and the quarterly non-maintenance charge |
| Retailer with unpredictable cash peaks | Axis Select or HDFC Activ | Both use a balance-linked formula; Activ also describes cash withdrawals within the 10-times-AMB rule | Required MAB/AQB, daily cash-handling process and excess-deposit fees |
| Business with high cash turnover and a ₹50,000 balance target | HDFC Ascent or Axis Select | Ascent uses 10 times current-month AMB with a ₹50 crore cap; Select uses 10 times MAB with a ₹50 lakh cap | Whether the much higher HDFC cap is relevant to your actual branch and scheme, and the applicable quarterly or monthly non-maintenance charge |
| Business wanting a formula with a minimum cash floor | HDFC EZEE | Higher of ₹4 lakh and six times current-month AMB, or 25 transactions, capped at ₹50 lakh | Exact AQB, eligibility and all fees not included in the supplied description |
How to compare your real annual cost
- Record three months of activity. Total every cash deposit, count deposit transactions, note cash withdrawals, and list digital transfers, collections and merchant settlements.
- Calculate the balance metric separately. For Axis, estimate each month’s average balance. For HDFC, estimate the average over the entire quarter. Do not compare ₹15,000 MAB with ₹10,000 AQB as though they covered the same period.
- Apply the cash formula. Use ₹2 lakh for Axis Normal, 10 times MAB for Axis Select, ₹10 lakh or 25 transactions for HDFC Professionals, 10 times current-month AMB for Activ or Ascent, and EZEE’s higher-of formula.
- Price the overage. For HDFC products with the published rate, multiply excess cash by ₹4 per ₹1,000 and apply the ₹50 transaction minimum. Obtain Axis’s current excess-cash tariff instead of assuming it matches HDFC’s.
- Add non-maintenance charges. Include HDFC’s stated ₹1,500 quarterly Professionals charge or ₹3,000 quarterly Activ/Ascent charge when the relevant balance condition is missed. Confirm Axis’s current charge for the exact scheme.
- Add operating services. Price cash pickup, non-home-branch transactions, cheque books, payment gateway or QR settlement, bulk payments, additional users and account alerts. These can outweigh a small difference in balance requirements.
Branch location and cash operations
Location changes the required balance for several products. Axis Normal is ₹15,000 MAB in metro/urban branches and ₹7,500 in semi-urban/rural branches. Liberty Digital is ₹10,000 and ₹5,000 respectively. HDFC Ascent is ₹50,000 AQB in metro/urban locations and ₹25,000 in semi-urban/rural locations.
Before choosing a lower rural or semi-urban threshold, confirm where the account is booked and whether moving the business or adding a non-home branch changes the classification. Ask for the rules on non-home cash deposits and withdrawals, cash-pickup cut-off times, service-area restrictions and charges for third-party deposits. Axis Normal’s unlimited home-branch withdrawal statement does not establish the same treatment at other branches, and the supplied HDFC descriptions do not state comparable home/non-home rules.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Opening checklist
- Legal constitution: sole proprietorship, professional practice, partnership, private limited company or another entity.
- Business and tax registrations, address proof and identity documents for owners and authorised signatories.
- Expected monthly and quarterly average balance, separated by metro/urban versus semi-urban/rural branch.
- Cash deposits by month, number of transactions, expected peak month and expected cash withdrawals.
- Digital requirements: NEFT/RTGS, bulk payments, collection links, QR or card settlement, user roles and approval controls.
- Written schedule of charges, including non-maintenance fees, excess cash, non-home transactions, cheque services and merchant services.
- Exact product name and scheme code printed on the application or account-opening form.
Bottom line
Choose Axis Normal when your business is a retailer or small enterprise with predictable cash deposits around the ₹2 lakh monthly limit and you value unlimited digital NEFT/RTGS and home-branch withdrawals. Choose Liberty Digital only after confirming that your sole proprietorship meets its alternative non-cash-credit condition. Choose Axis Select when a ₹50,000 MAB is practical and a 10-times-MAB allowance, capped at ₹50 lakh, matches your cash pattern.
Choose HDFC Professionals for an eligible professional or small practice that can stay at ₹10,000 AQB and benefits from the stated ₹10 lakh-or-25-transaction cash allowance. Consider HDFC Activ for a retail merchant whose cash deposits and withdrawals vary with current-month AMB. Consider Ascent when the ₹50,000 or ₹25,000 location-based AQB is manageable and the larger 10-times-AMB formula is genuinely needed. The right answer is the account whose measurement period, cash formula, legal eligibility and service fees match your actual twelve-month operating pattern.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




