Recommended Free Tools
Yes. In 2026, Alaska’s Atmos Rewards members can earn elite-qualifying status points from card purchases. The clearest published path is the Summit Visa Infinite: 1 status point per $2 in purchases, plus 10,000 status points at each card anniversary beginning with the first anniversary. Because Atmos Silver requires 20,000 status points, a cardholder who receives that anniversary award needs another $20,000 in qualifying Summit purchases to reach Silver, assuming no other status points.
What card spending can and cannot do in 2026
Alaska’s loyalty program is now called Atmos Rewards, and elite-qualifying miles are called status points. Status points determine your tier; redeemable Atmos points are a separate currency used for award travel and other redemptions. Earning more redeemable points does not, by itself, move you toward Silver, Gold, Platinum or Titanium.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
For 2026, Alaska publishes card-earning rules for the Summit Visa Infinite and the Ascent Visa Signature. Hawaiian Airlines separately describes status-point earning on its Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard. The rates below apply to qualifying purchases under the applicable card terms. Category definitions, exclusions, fees and promotional conditions can change, so check the current application disclosures and cardmember agreement before applying or moving substantial spending.
Quick wins for a faster PC:
Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Clear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Card spending is one possible source of status points, not a guarantee of elite status. Your actual result depends on which transactions qualify, when they post, whether an anniversary award has become available and whether you earn status points from flights or other eligible activity during the same calendar year.
#1 Best Overall
2026 Atmos Rewards elite thresholds
These are the published status-point targets for the 2026 qualification year:
| Atmos tier | Status points required | Benefit period note |
|---|---|---|
| Silver | 20,000 | Benefits continue through January 31 of the following year once status is earned. |
| Gold | 40,000 | Benefits continue through January 31 of the following year once status is earned. |
| Platinum | 80,000 | Benefits continue through January 31 of the following year once status is earned. |
| Titanium | 135,000 | Benefits continue through January 31 of the following year once status is earned. |
Alaska says status earning for a year ends on December 31. Purchases that are still pending or otherwise do not post as qualifying activity by the deadline may not help that year’s total, so leave time for merchant and issuer processing. The January 31 extension concerns the period in which benefits can be used; it is not an additional month for earning the previous year’s status points.
How the three relevant cards compare
| Card | Published status-point rate | Anniversary or extra award | Cap | Annual fee or fee disclosure | Important qualification |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summit Visa Infinite | 1 status point per $2 in purchases | 10,000 status points at every card anniversary, beginning with the first anniversary | No cap stated for status points earned through the card | $395 annual fee in Alaska’s product announcement | The anniversary award is not available before the first card anniversary. |
| Ascent Visa Signature | Alaska’s 2026 announcement says 3 status points per $1 spent on purchases | None stated in the announcement | No cap stated | Not stated in the 2026 announcement | The same announcement gives category examples that work out to 1 status point per $3, so a universal spend calculation is not reliable until current terms clarify the categories. |
| Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard | 1 status point per $3 in qualifying purchases | None stated in Hawaiian’s February 2026 announcement | No cap stated | Not stated in the cited announcement | Eligible Alaska/Hawaiian purchases also earn 3 redeemable Atmos points per dollar; those redeemable points are not status points. |
“Uncapped” describes the absence of a stated ceiling on status points from qualifying card purchases. It does not mean that every charge qualifies, that returns are ignored, or that excluded cash-like transactions earn points. Always read the current definitions before assuming a large payment will count.
Summit Visa Infinite: the most predictable card-spend calculation
The Summit’s published formula is straightforward: every $2 in purchases earns 1 status point. Alaska also says the card provides 10,000 status points at each anniversary beginning with the first anniversary. Alaska Vice President of Loyalty, Alliances and Sales Brett Catlin summarized the structure in the August 20, 2025 card announcement: “Every $2 spent on purchases = 1 status point and get 10,000 status points every year beginning on your first card anniversary.”
The $395 annual fee is a real cost, so the status calculation should be compared with benefits you will actually use rather than treating status as free. The fee, interest charges, opportunity cost and any spending you would not otherwise make can all outweigh the value of a tier.
Reaching Silver after the first anniversary award
Silver requires 20,000 status points. Once the first 10,000-point anniversary award posts, you have half of the Silver requirement. The remaining 10,000 status points require $20,000 in Summit purchases at 1 point per $2, provided the purchases qualify and you have no other status points.
| Target | Total status points required | Points supplied by anniversary award | Additional points needed | Additional Summit purchases at $2 per point |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Silver | 20,000 | 10,000 | 10,000 | $20,000 |
| Gold | 40,000 | 10,000 | 30,000 | $60,000 |
| Platinum | 80,000 | 10,000 | 70,000 | $140,000 |
| Titanium | 135,000 | 10,000 | 125,000 | $250,000 |
These are arithmetic illustrations, not guarantees of approval, spending capacity or card value. They assume the anniversary award has posted, every dollar counted is a qualifying purchase, and no flight or other activity supplies additional status points.
What’s actually slowing this PC down?
Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.
Rank #2
- Ideal for Gifting
- Ideal for a bookworm
- Compact for travelling
For perspective, $20,000 over a full 12-month period averages about $1,667 per month. The $60,000 needed after the anniversary award for Gold averages $5,000 per month; $140,000 for Platinum averages about $11,667 per month; and $250,000 for Titanium averages about $20,833 per month. Those monthly figures are planning aids, not requirements imposed by Alaska, and they do not change the December 31 qualification deadline.
If your first anniversary has not occurred
A new cardholder should not count the 10,000 points in advance. Before the first anniversary award, Summit spending alone would require the following amounts:
| Target | Status points needed from purchases | Summit purchases at 1 point per $2 |
|---|---|---|
| Silver | 20,000 | $40,000 |
| Gold | 40,000 | $80,000 |
| Platinum | 80,000 | $160,000 |
| Titanium | 135,000 | $270,000 |
If the first anniversary falls after December 31, the award may not help the earlier qualification year. A card opened late in the year can therefore have a different result from an account opened early in the year, even if annual spending is identical.
If you reach a tier through a mixture of card spending, flights and other eligible activity, subtract the status points already credited from the target before calculating the remaining card spend. For example, 4,000 credited flight status points would reduce a 20,000-point Silver gap to 16,000 points. At Summit’s published rate, that remaining gap would be $32,000, assuming the anniversary award is not being counted and all future purchases qualify.
Does the 10,000-point award repeat?
Alaska’s published Summit description says the 10,000 status-point award is provided every year beginning on the first card anniversary. That makes it an anniversary benefit, not an award available immediately when a new account opens. Confirm the anniversary date and posting rules in your current card terms, especially if an account is closed, converted or not in good standing. Do not assume that an anniversary award earned on one account automatically transfers after a product change.
Ascent Visa Signature: why a single spend target is not yet dependable
Alaska’s 2026 announcement broadly says Ascent cardholders earn 3 status points per $1 spent on purchases, with no cap. However, the same announcement gives two numerical illustrations that do not match that broad rate:
- $6,000 of Alaska or Hawaiian airfare purchases is shown as earning 2,000 status points, which equals 1 point per $3.
- $7,500 of “essential” purchases is shown as earning 2,500 status points, also 1 point per $3.
Because the broad statement and the examples conflict, it would be misleading to promise that a particular dollar amount always reaches Silver, Gold or another tier on Ascent. Treat the examples as written, identify which purchase categories your spending falls into, and verify the current card terms before relying on Ascent for a status run. Until the issuer clarifies the category rules, the only safe conclusion is that status earning is uncapped according to the announcement but the applicable rate may depend on purchase type.
Rank #3
If you already hold Ascent, use your own posted history as a reality check: compare the transaction category and dollar amount with the status points actually credited. That record can reveal how your issuer is treating a category, but it should not override a later amendment to the cardmember agreement.
Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard: one status point per $3
Hawaiian’s February 2026 announcement says qualifying purchases on the Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard earn 1 status point for every $3, without a stated status-point cap. At that rate, and with no other status points, the arithmetic would be $60,000 for Silver, $120,000 for Gold, $240,000 for Platinum and $405,000 for Titanium. Those figures are calculations from the published rate, not promises that every transaction qualifies.
| Tier | Status points still needed | Purchases at $3 per status point | Approximate monthly average over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| Silver | 20,000 | $60,000 | $5,000 |
| Gold | 40,000 | $120,000 | $10,000 |
| Platinum | 80,000 | $240,000 | $20,000 |
| Titanium | 135,000 | $405,000 | $33,750 |
The same announcement says eligible Alaska and Hawaiian purchases earn 3 redeemable Atmos points per dollar. Redeemable points do not count toward elite thresholds unless the program separately labels an earning activity as status points. Keep two running totals: one for status qualification and another for award-travel currency.
How to build a card-spending plan
- Choose the tier and qualification year. Start with 20,000, 40,000, 80,000 or 135,000 status points for Silver, Gold, Platinum or Titanium. Decide whether you are earning during the current calendar year, since Alaska’s earning deadline is December 31.
- Inventory status points you already have. Include credited flight activity and any card anniversary award that has actually posted. Do not include a future Summit anniversary award in today’s balance.
- Calculate the remaining gap using the card’s stated rate. For Summit, divide the gap by 1 point per $2. For Hawaiian’s card, divide by 1 point per $3. Do not use a universal Ascent formula while the broad rate and examples remain inconsistent.
- Confirm what counts as a qualifying purchase. Review the live issuer terms for excluded transactions, returns, credits, cash-like transactions and category definitions. A purchase that earns ordinary rewards may not necessarily earn status points.
- Route only planned, affordable expenses. Use the card for recurring bills and ordinary household spending you can pay in full. Do not buy unnecessary items, carry interest-bearing balances or manufacture spending simply to chase a tier.
- Track posting dates, not just transaction dates. Keep a spreadsheet with transaction date, posting date, amount, merchant category and status points credited. Leave a buffer before December 31 for transactions that could post late.
- Reconcile the Atmos account. Compare your own ledger with the status-point activity shown in your Atmos account. Contact the issuer or Alaska if a qualifying transaction or anniversary award is missing, and retain statements until the dispute is resolved.
- Price the annual fee against actual use. Summit’s published $395 annual fee should be weighed against the value of benefits you would otherwise purchase or use. A tier reached through spending is not automatically worth more than the fee, interest, opportunity cost and any spending you would not have made.
Worked planning examples
Example 1: Summit holder with a posted anniversary award
Suppose a Summit cardholder sees the 10,000-point anniversary award in the Atmos account and has no flight status points. The Silver target is 20,000, leaving 10,000 points. At 1 point per $2, the remaining planned spend is $20,000. If the cardholder has already earned 3,000 status points from flights, the remaining gap after the anniversary award is 7,000 points, or $14,000 at the same rate.
Example 2: Summit holder before the first anniversary
A new cardholder who has no anniversary award and no other status points must earn the entire target through qualifying purchases. Silver would require $40,000 at the published Summit rate. If the cardholder cannot naturally place that amount on the card before December 31, applying for the card does not by itself solve the qualification problem.
Example 3: Combining Hawaiian card spend and flights
A Hawaiian Mastercard holder with 5,000 credited flight status points needs 15,000 more for Silver. Using the published 1-per-$3 planning rate, the arithmetic gap is $45,000 in qualifying purchases. Redeemable points earned from eligible Alaska or Hawaiian purchases should be tracked separately and should not be subtracted from the 15,000-point status gap.
Timing, posting and the January 31 extension
Status earning for a year ends December 31, while Alaska says hard-earned status benefits continue through January 31 of the next year. The extension is a benefit-validity period; it is not an extra month to earn the previous year’s status points. Plan purchases early enough that they post in the intended qualification year, and verify the account ledger rather than relying on a pending transaction.
Rank #4
The Summit anniversary award follows your card anniversary, not necessarily January 1. A card opened late in the year may therefore receive its first 10,000 status points in a later calendar year. Keep the anniversary date in your plan and confirm the award has posted before reducing the amount of spending you believe remains.
Returns, statement credits and adjustments can change the amount of qualifying spend recognized. Save statements and note when credits appear. If the posted status-point total differs from your calculation, ask the issuer which transaction was excluded before making additional spending decisions.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte Driver Updater FREEFix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitchesFind Drivers →Outbyte PC Repair FREERepair Windows errors before they cause bigger problemsFix Now →What changes for flights in 2027
Alaska announced a separate change for flights departing January 1, 2027 or later. Members can choose to earn flight points and status points by distance, price or segments; selections opened October 1, 2026. Current members who make no selection continue earning based on distance, while members who join on or after January 1, 2027 default to price-based earning.
This flight-earning choice does not replace the 2026 card-spending rates described above. A 2027 flight-earning selection should not be used to recalculate a 2026 card-spend plan. It may affect how you combine future flights with card spending, but the card rules and the flight rules are separate parts of the program.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Common mistakes to avoid
- Counting the Summit award too early: the first 10,000-point award begins at the first card anniversary, not at account opening.
- Confusing status and redeemable points: the Hawaiian card’s 3 points per dollar on eligible Alaska or Hawaiian purchases are redeemable Atmos points, while its status rate is 1 point per $3 of qualifying purchases.
- Applying Ascent’s broad rate to every category: the published examples do not align with 3 status points per dollar, so a guaranteed threshold cannot be stated from the announcement alone.
- Ignoring the calendar deadline: a December purchase that posts in January may fall into the next qualification year.
- Assuming “uncapped” means every transaction qualifies: an uncapped rate still operates under qualifying-purchase definitions and exclusions.
- Spending more than the tier is worth: interest, fees, foregone cash-back or travel rewards and unnecessary purchases can outweigh the value of elite benefits.
- Using outdated terms: verify rates, fees, anniversary conditions and category definitions in the current disclosures before applying.
- Ignoring account status: closure, conversion or an account not in good standing can affect whether an anniversary award or purchase credit is available under the applicable terms.
Which approach fits which reader?
| Your situation | Most defensible approach |
|---|---|
| You want a transparent card-spend calculation and can use the benefits. | Model Summit at 1 status point per $2, include the $395 annual fee, and count the 10,000-point anniversary award only after it posts. |
| You already hold Ascent and spend across several categories. | Review the live category terms and your actual posting history; do not assume the broad 3-per-dollar statement applies uniformly. |
| You hold the Hawaiian Mastercard and want to use ordinary purchases. | Use 1 status point per $3 as the published planning rate for qualifying purchases, while keeping redeemable Atmos points separate. |
| You are combining flights and cards. | Subtract credited flight status points from the tier target, then calculate only the remaining card-spend gap. |
| You would need debt or artificial spending to reach a tier. | Do not pursue the tier that way; the financial cost can exceed any elite benefit. |
For most readers, Summit offers the clearest 2026 status-spend math because both the purchase rate and anniversary award are stated. Its economics still depend on the $395 fee, the timing of the first anniversary and whether your normal spending can produce the required volume without interest or unnecessary purchases.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I earn Alaska elite status through card spending in 2026?
Use qualifying purchases on an eligible card to earn Atmos status points, then reach 20,000, 40,000, 80,000 or 135,000 points for Silver, Gold, Platinum or Titanium. Summit is the clearest calculation at 1 status point per $2, plus 10,000 points each anniversary beginning with the first anniversary.
Do these 3 things before closing this tab:
1Fix the driver behind crashes, sound loss and screen glitches2Repair Windows errors before they cause bigger problems3Scan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteHow much Summit spending is needed for Silver?
After a posted 10,000-point anniversary award, another 10,000 points are needed for Silver. At 1 point per $2, that is $20,000 in qualifying purchases. Before the first anniversary award, Summit spending alone would require $40,000.
Best Value
- It can be a gift option
- Comes with secure packaging
- Helpful in various ways
Does the Summit 10,000-point bonus count every year?
Alaska’s Summit announcement says the 10,000-status-point award is provided every year beginning on the first card anniversary. It is not an account-opening award, so confirm the anniversary and posting conditions in your current terms.
How many status points does the Hawaiian Airlines World Elite Mastercard earn?
Hawaiian’s February 2026 announcement says qualifying purchases earn 1 status point for every $3, without a stated cap. Eligible Alaska and Hawaiian purchases can also earn 3 redeemable Atmos points per dollar; those are separate from status points.
Can I rely on Ascent’s 3-status-points-per-dollar rate?
Not for a universal spending calculation yet. Alaska’s 2026 announcement states 3 points per dollar, but its examples assign 2,000 points to $6,000 of airfare and 2,500 points to $7,500 of essential purchases, both equal to 1 point per $3. Check current category terms.
Do status points earned from flights combine with card status points?
Yes, credited status points from eligible activity can reduce the remaining gap. Subtract points already posted from your tier target before calculating additional card spending.
Does January 31 give me more time to earn status?
No. Alaska says status earning for the year ends December 31. January 31 is the end of the period in which earned benefits continue, not an extra earning deadline.
Will the 2027 flight-earning options change card-spending rates?
No. The distance, price and segments choice applies to eligible flights departing January 1, 2027 or later. It does not replace the 2026 card-spend rates.
The Bottom Line
In 2026, Summit is the easiest card for reliable status-spend math: 1 status point per $2, plus 10,000 points each year beginning at the first anniversary. After that award, Silver takes another $20,000 in qualifying purchases. Hawaiian’s card uses 1 point per $3, while Ascent’s published headline rate conflicts with its examples. Track posting dates, separate status points from redeemable points, verify current terms and never carry debt or make unnecessary purchases solely to chase elite status.
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You Down
One free scan finds every outdated or missing driver and matches the right update for your exact hardware.Free scan · exact hardware matchPC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.




