Driver FixRecommendedSound, Wi-Fi or graphics acting up? Check drivers firstFind missing or outdated drivers fast.Check DriversHalloween DealsAmazon USHalloween week deals: useful picks before month-endAmazon US: current deals, useful picks and tech finds.Check DealsClean PCRecommendedOne scan can reveal what keeps slowing WindowsLook for cleanup and repair opportunities.Run Scan×
Skip to the guide
THE FINANCEBASE List yours

Guide

1-800 Contacts ExpressExam Review: Cost, Eligibility, and What It Really Covers

By TheFinanceBase Team 11 min read

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Short answer: 1-800 Contacts’ ExpressExam is a legitimate-looking, clinician-reviewed online prescription-renewal service for eligible contact-lens wearers, but it is not a comprehensive eye examination. It can be a convenient way to request a new contact-lens prescription when your existing prescription is expiring, provided you pass the eligibility screen and have the required device, lighting, and space.

The biggest practical issue is price uncertainty: two official pages list different fees. One current landing page shows $30, while the official ExpressExam explainer shows $20 and says you pay only if the prescription is renewed. Check the amount displayed at checkout before submitting payment. Treat the service as a renewal option—not as a substitute for an in-person examination that evaluates overall eye health or updates a glasses prescription.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

What ExpressExam is

ExpressExam is 1-800 Contacts’ remote vision-and-prescription-renewal workflow. The company says you answer health and vision questions, complete a vision task that includes taking pictures of your eyes, and have the information reviewed by a board-certified ophthalmologist licensed in your state. If the clinician approves a renewal, the company says the prescription is typically ready within a couple of business hours.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

That description matters because “online eye exam” can mean several different things. ExpressExam is designed around renewing an existing contact-lens prescription. It is not presented as a full evaluation of your eyes, and the available information does not establish that it can diagnose eye disease, perform every measurement used in a comprehensive examination, or replace regular in-person care.

What it may do

  • Screen you for eligibility to use the remote service.
  • Collect answers about your current prescription and eye history.
  • Guide you through a distance-vision task and eye photographs.
  • Send the submitted information to a state-licensed ophthalmologist for review.
  • Provide a renewed contact-lens prescription if the clinician approves it.

What it does not promise to do

  • Replace a comprehensive eye-health examination.
  • Update a glasses prescription; Healthline’s review says ExpressExam is for current contact-lens wearers and does not update glasses prescriptions.
  • Give you a clinical diagnosis or a broad assessment of eye disease risk.
  • Guarantee that every user will qualify or receive a renewal.

The company’s use of terms such as “exam” and its comparisons with in-person visits should therefore be read in the narrow context of prescription renewal. A short remote renewal can be useful, but it answers a different question from “Are my eyes healthy?”

How much does the 1-800 Contacts online exam cost?

The official pages currently disagree. The ExpressExam landing page lists a $30 fee. A separate official ExpressExam explainer lists $20 and says payment is due only if the prescription is renewed. Because those are both company pages and the difference affects whether the service fits your budget, verify the live amount and payment condition on the checkout screen immediately before you submit the exam.

Information shown by the official pages What it means for you
Landing page: $30 One current official page displays this price for the service.
ExpressExam explainer: $20 Another official page displays this lower price and says you pay only if the prescription is renewed.
In-person comprehensive examination Not stated in the available material; prices vary by provider, location, insurance, and appointment type.

Do not assume the lower figure applies simply because it appears on an official page. Save or screenshot the checkout summary if the amount or “pay only if renewed” language is important to you. Also check whether the screen clearly explains what happens if you are declined, because the explainer’s payment wording and the landing page’s displayed price do not line up perfectly.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The company compares ExpressExam with the time and cost of in-person care. Those comparisons are marketing claims, not an independently verified market average or time study. Your actual savings depend on local appointment prices, insurance, travel, and whether you need a comprehensive examination rather than a renewal.

Who can use it?

ExpressExam is not an open-access vision test for everyone. The official workflow begins with an eligibility screen, and the service requires an existing prescription context. Healthline’s review describes eligibility as being for current contact-lens wearers. In practical terms, someone who has never worn contacts, has no usable prior prescription, or wants a new glasses prescription should not assume the service will work.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

Likely eligibility questions

The service may ask about your current prescription, contact-lens use, and relevant eye or health information before allowing you to continue. The exact questions and state availability can change, so the on-screen eligibility result is more authoritative than a general description of the service.

Situations that call for an in-person provider instead

  • You need a comprehensive eye-health examination rather than a prescription renewal.
  • You want to update or obtain a glasses prescription.
  • You have new, worsening, or unexplained eye symptoms.
  • Your contact lenses are uncomfortable, your vision has changed substantially, or you suspect an infection or injury.
  • You do not have a current prescription history or are not a current contact-lens wearer.
  • The online eligibility screen says the service is unavailable in your state or that you do not qualify.

Those are not merely administrative exceptions. A remote renewal is designed for a narrower, lower-complexity use case. If your reason for seeking care is a symptom or concern about eye health, a renewal workflow can delay the evaluation you actually need.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What you need before starting

The official ExpressExam explainer says the process takes less than 10 minutes and requires a device, a quiet and well-lit area, and about 10 feet of space for the vision task. Prepare those basics before opening the workflow so that a failed attempt is less likely to be caused by your surroundings rather than your vision.

Preparation checklist

  • Device: Use a supported phone, tablet, or computer as instructed by the service. Keep the camera lens clean and the device charged.
  • Lighting: Choose even, bright lighting that lets the camera capture your eyes without glare or deep shadows.
  • Space: Clear a straight line of roughly 10 feet for the distance-vision portion.
  • Quiet environment: Complete the questions and instructions without interruptions.
  • Prescription information: Have your current contact-lens details available if the workflow asks you to confirm them.
  • Time: Although the company says the exam takes less than 10 minutes, allow extra time for setup, retakes, or clinician follow-up.

Do not improvise the distance test in a cramped room or rely on a dim, backlit setting. If the system cannot obtain usable images or responses, you may have to repeat the process or be directed to in-person care.

How the online renewal works

  1. Open ExpressExam and start the eligibility screen. Answer the initial questions honestly. The screen determines whether your circumstances fit the service; it is not a guarantee that a prescription will be renewed.
  2. Confirm your existing prescription context. Provide the requested information about your current contact-lens prescription and wearing status. If you are seeking a glasses prescription or have no current contact-lens history, this workflow may not be appropriate.
  3. Set up the room and device. Move to a quiet, well-lit area with approximately 10 feet of usable distance. Position the camera as directed and remove anything that blocks a clear view of your eyes.
  4. Complete the questions and vision task. Follow the on-screen instructions for the distance-vision test and eye photographs. Do not ask another person to answer for you or guess at a response simply to finish.
  5. Submit the information for clinician review. The company says a board-certified ophthalmologist licensed in your state reviews the submission. A clinician may approve a renewal, decline it, or require a different form of care.
  6. Check the decision and prescription details. If approved, review the renewed prescription for the correct patient name, lens parameters, expiration information, and any restrictions before using it to order lenses.
  7. Review the charge before payment. Confirm the amount displayed at checkout and whether the page says you are charged only when a renewal is issued. The two official pages do not show the same price.

The company says an approved prescription is typically ready within a couple of business hours. “Typically” is not a guaranteed turnaround, so avoid starting the process at the last possible moment if you need lenses for travel, work, or uninterrupted wear.

Online renewal versus a comprehensive eye examination

The choice is easier when you separate the purpose of each service. ExpressExam is a convenience-focused renewal pathway. A comprehensive examination is a broader clinical visit intended to assess vision and eye health, identify concerns that may not be obvious to you, and determine whether additional testing or treatment is needed.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Decision factor ExpressExam online renewal In-person comprehensive examination
Primary purpose Renew an existing contact-lens prescription for an eligible user. Evaluate vision and overall eye health through a broader clinical examination.
Price information Official pages conflict: $30 on the landing page and $20 on the explainer; verify checkout. Not stated in the available material; local prices depend on provider, location, insurance, and services.
Time and convenience Company says the workflow takes less than 10 minutes, with an approved prescription typically ready within a couple of business hours. Requires scheduling and travel, but the appointment can include examination components unavailable through the renewal workflow.
Eligibility Requires an eligibility screen, an existing prescription context, a device, suitable lighting, and about 10 feet of space; Healthline describes current contact-lens-wearer eligibility. Provider determines the appropriate examination and testing after taking a history and examining you.
Prescription scope Contact-lens renewal; Healthline says it does not update glasses prescriptions. Can address glasses and contact-lens prescriptions as part of the provider’s examination.
Eye-health assessment Not a substitute for a comprehensive eye exam. Designed to assess eye health more broadly and investigate symptoms or findings.
Clinician involvement Company says a board-certified ophthalmologist licensed in your state reviews the submitted information. Clinician examines you directly in person and can perform additional tests when indicated.

The online option is most defensible when your need is narrow: you are an established contact-lens wearer, your prescription is expiring, you have no concerning symptoms, and convenience matters. It is a poor fit when you need broader preventive care, a glasses update, or evaluation of a change in your eyes or vision.

Is the service legitimate?

ExpressExam describes a real workflow with an eligibility screen, a vision task, eye photographs, and review by a state-licensed ophthalmologist. Those features support calling it a clinician-reviewed prescription-renewal service rather than an automated glasses-chart app. They do not, however, make it equivalent to an in-person comprehensive examination.

The American Optometric Association has criticized the way online eye-test services are presented and has warned that consumers could mistake prescription renewal for a comprehensive examination. That is the association’s stated position; it does not by itself establish that ExpressExam fails every clinical standard or that a particular user’s renewal is wrong. It does reinforce the need to understand the limited purpose of the service.

What “legitimate” should mean here

  • The service identifies its purpose as prescription renewal rather than general eye care.
  • A qualified clinician, not only software, is described as reviewing the submission.
  • The clinician is supposed to be licensed in the user’s state.
  • The process tells you whether you qualify and whether a renewal is approved.
  • The service does not replace care when symptoms or broader eye-health questions are present.

If a website or advertisement implies that a short online renewal is all the eye care you need, that implication goes beyond the narrower service described by the official workflow.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

What is known about accuracy?

The available material does not provide an independent clinical accuracy rate for ExpressExam. The company says its prescription is guaranteed accurate, but that statement is not the same as a published, independently verified accuracy study. Do not infer a success rate from the company’s user-count or speed claims, and do not treat the absence of a reported rate as proof that the service is inaccurate.

Accuracy also has more than one meaning. A prescription can be appropriate for the limited information submitted while the user still needs an in-person examination for eye-health concerns. Conversely, a remote renewal can be inconvenient or unsuitable if the images, responses, or prescription history are incomplete. The responsible conclusion is that independent accuracy evidence is not established in the available sources, so users should keep the service’s narrow scope in mind.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

State availability, turnaround, and practical limits

Because the reviewing clinician must be licensed in your state, availability can depend on where you live and on the service’s current network. The eligibility screen should tell you whether you can proceed; do not assume that a service available to a friend in another state is available to you.

The company’s “couple of business hours” turnaround applies to an approved renewal as described by the company. It is not a promise that every submission will be reviewed in that time, and it does not include time needed to order, manufacture, or ship contact lenses. Build in a buffer if your supply is running low.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

If the process does not work

  • Camera or image failure: Clean the lens, improve the lighting, remove glare, and follow the positioning instructions exactly.
  • Distance-test difficulty: Recreate the required open space instead of moving the device closer than instructed.
  • Eligibility denial: Treat the result as a sign to contact an eye-care provider, especially if your prescription or symptoms have changed.
  • Delayed review: Check the status information supplied by the service and avoid assuming that a submitted test equals an approved prescription.
  • Unexpected charge: Compare the checkout terms with the amount shown before submission and retain your confirmation.

When ExpressExam may be worth considering

For an established contact-lens wearer with a stable prescription, no new symptoms, and a tight schedule, a short remote renewal can remove a trip to an office. The convenience is strongest when the alternative is a routine renewal appointment that offers no additional testing you currently need.

Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways

Its value is weaker when you would have to arrange an in-person visit anyway, when you need both glasses and contact-lens prescriptions, or when your eyes have changed. In those situations, paying for a comprehensive examination may address more of the problem in one visit than paying for a narrow renewal and then scheduling a second appointment.

A simple decision test

  1. Are you a current contact-lens wearer with an existing prescription?
  2. Is your goal only to renew that contact-lens prescription?
  3. Do you have no new pain, redness, discharge, sudden vision change, or other concerning symptom?
  4. Can you meet the device, lighting, quiet-room, and distance requirements?
  5. Have you checked the current checkout price and payment terms?

If you answer “no” to any of the first four questions, an in-person eye-care provider is the safer fit. If you answer “yes” to all five, ExpressExam may be a reasonable convenience option, while still retaining regular comprehensive eye care on the schedule recommended by your provider.

Questions to ask before you submit

  • What exact amount will be charged, and when?
  • What happens if the clinician does not renew the prescription?
  • Is the renewed prescription for contact lenses only?
  • How will the prescription be delivered, and can you access it later?
  • What should you do if your symptoms change after submission?

These questions protect against the most common misunderstanding: treating a fast renewal transaction as a complete examination. Read the final confirmation instead of relying on a price or promise seen on an earlier page.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Bottom line

1-800 Contacts ExpressExam can be a convenient, clinician-reviewed way for an eligible current contact-lens wearer to seek a prescription renewal online. It is not a comprehensive eye exam, it does not update glasses prescriptions according to Healthline’s review, and independent accuracy data are not established in the available sources. The two official pages also show different prices—$30 and $20—so verify the live checkout amount and payment condition. Use the service for the narrow renewal task it is designed to address, and choose in-person care for preventive eye-health evaluation, symptoms, prescription changes, or any situation outside that narrow lane.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

More guides

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.