Fall ResetAmazon USFall reset deals: check better picks before checkoutAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix NowFall ResetAmazon USWork and home upgrades are worth comparing todayAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.See Picks×
Skip to content
Blog

Tesla’s $60-a-Day Rental: What’s Included, Where It’s Available and the Restrictions

By TheFinanceBase Team4 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Yes, Tesla has advertised rentals starting at $60 per day with unlimited mileage and free Supercharging—but the offer documented by Tesla is for its Costa Mesa, California, event and is not a universal all-in price. Rates vary by model, the rental is limited to three to seven days, and the vehicle cannot be taken out of state. Tesla’s listed booking schedule ended January 1, 2026, so confirm current availability and the final price directly before relying on the offer.

What Tesla’s $60 rental includes

Tesla’s Costa Mesa event page advertises rentals for up to seven days starting at $60 per day, with free charging at any Supercharger. Tesla says rates vary by model; the advertised starting rate is not a guarantee that every model is available at that price or that $60 is the final daily cost after taxes and any applicable fees. The page does not establish an all-in total for a particular booking. Tesla’s event listing is the place to check the offer details and booking availability.

The listed rental period is at least three days and no more than seven. Mileage is unlimited, but the car may not be taken out of state. Returning it with less than 50% charge incurs a $30 fee, even though Supercharging is included during the rental. Check the booking terms for any other charges before paying or placing a card hold.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Who can rent, and what Tesla requires

For the Costa Mesa offer, Tesla requires renters to be at least 21, hold a valid U.S. driver’s license, show proof of current automobile insurance, and accept a credit-card hold. Confirm the exact insurance documentation and hold amount with Tesla before booking; those details are not specified in the event information.

Which models and locations are available?

Tesla’s official event page documents the Costa Mesa, California, offer. A separate report published July 11, 2026, cited rates of $60 per day for Model 3 and Model Y and $75 per day for Cybertruck, but those figures should not be treated as a nationwide price list or a guarantee of local inventory. Not a Tesla App’s report also described rentals as being at select showrooms.

Reporting on September 5, 2026, said Tesla job postings indicated preparations for possible service in Maryland, Kansas, Washington and Pennsylvania, but no launch dates had been announced. That is evidence of planned expansion, not confirmation that rentals are currently bookable in those states. Check Tesla’s booking page for a live location and date before making plans. The September report discusses the postings and their status.

Rank #2
Sale
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
  • Ideal for Gifting
  • Ideal for a bookworm
  • Compact for travelling

Is Full Self-Driving included?

Tesla says renters can try Full Self-Driving (Supervised) and use the Tesla app. The company’s disclaimer says that currently enabled features require active driver supervision and do not make the vehicle autonomous. Treat FSD as a supervised driver-assistance feature: the person behind the wheel remains responsible for driving.

Free tools Windows power users keep installed

One-click scans. No signup required.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Can you get a purchase credit?

Tesla’s event listing offers up to a $250 credit toward a Tesla purchase if the renter orders within seven days of the rental. The final credit depends on rental duration, so confirm the amount and eligibility terms with Tesla rather than assuming every renter receives the maximum.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

How Tesla’s offer compares with renting through Hertz

Hertz markets Tesla Model 3 rentals at select U.S. locations, including airport markets. Hertz is a separate rental channel, so its availability and terms are not the same as Tesla’s Costa Mesa offer. Its Tesla rental page does not promise free Supercharging; check the booking terms for how charging is handled and what it will cost.

Quick Recap

SaleBestseller No. 1
SaleBestseller No. 2
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
The Psychology of Money: Timeless lessons on wealth, greed, and happiness
Ideal for Gifting; Ideal for a bookworm; Compact for travelling
$10.99
SaleBestseller No. 5
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
It can be a gift option; Comes with secure packaging; Helpful in various ways
$9.15
Best Value
Sale
I Will Teach You to Be Rich: No Guilt. No Excuses. Just a 6-Week Program That Works (Second Edition)
  • It can be a gift option
  • Comes with secure packaging
  • Helpful in various ways
What to compare Tesla Costa Mesa offer Hertz Tesla rentals
Price Starts at $60 per day; Tesla says rates vary by model. Taxes, fees and an all-in total are not stated on the event page. Tesla Not stated on the referenced page; check the price for the selected location and dates. Hertz
Charging Free Supercharging, according to Tesla’s event listing. Returning below 50% charge triggers a $30 fee. Tesla Free Supercharging is not promised on the referenced page; verify charging costs in booking terms. Hertz
Mileage Unlimited. Tesla Not stated on the referenced page; confirm the selected booking’s mileage allowance. Hertz
Duration and geography Three-day minimum, seven-day maximum; cannot be taken out of state. Tesla Terms depend on the selected Hertz booking; the referenced page does not state a general duration or geographic restriction. Hertz
Availability and vehicle Officially documented at Costa Mesa; model availability is location-specific. Tesla Model 3 rentals are listed at select U.S. locations, including Phoenix, Los Angeles, San Diego, San Francisco, Denver, Miami, New York, Boston and Dallas. Hertz
Eligibility and incentive At least 21, valid U.S. license, proof of current auto insurance and credit-card hold; possible purchase credit of up to $250, contingent on duration and ordering within seven days. Tesla Not stated on the referenced page; check the specific booking terms. Hertz

What to confirm before you book

  • Whether the Tesla location is accepting bookings for your dates; the Costa Mesa schedule shown on Tesla’s page ends January 1, 2026.
  • The selected model’s daily rate, taxes, fees and total charge.
  • The credit-card hold amount and the insurance documents Tesla will accept.
  • Whether your trip stays within California, since Tesla’s listed rental cannot be taken out of state.
  • The return-charge requirement: below 50% battery incurs a $30 fee.
  • If booking through Hertz instead, the mileage allowance and charging terms for your specific reservation.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Written by TheFinanceBase Team

The Team behind TheFinanceBase.

Add your note

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan
Outdated Drivers Are Slowing You DownFree scan - exact matches

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.