Free tools Windows power users keep installed
One-click scans. No signup required.
Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.
KKR’s investment in Optiv Security was announced on December 6, 2016, as an agreement to acquire a majority stake—not every Optiv share. The transaction closed on February 1, 2017. The parties did not disclose a purchase price; contemporary industry reports estimated a value of roughly $1.8 billion to $2 billion, potentially including debt.
Optiv-KKR deal at a glance
| Item | Details |
|---|---|
| Buyer | KKR, primarily through its eleventh Americas Private Equity fund |
| Target | Optiv Security |
| Transaction | Acquisition of a majority stake |
| Announced | December 6, 2016 |
| Closed | February 1, 2017 |
| Selling investors | A Blackstone-managed private-equity fund, Investcorp and Sverica Capital |
| Continuing minority holders | A Blackstone-affiliated fund and Optiv management |
| Official financial terms | Not disclosed |
| Contemporary reported estimate | Approximately $1.8 billion to $2 billion; not confirmed by the parties |
The original announcement is available from Blackstone and Optiv.
What KKR actually acquired
“Acquired by KKR” can imply a 100% buyout, but that is not what the transaction documents described. KKR bought control through a majority equity stake. Blackstone and Optiv’s management retained minority interests after closing, so the deal was neither a purchase of every share nor an acquisition of selected Optiv assets.
The Tool Desk
Outbyte PC Repair FREEClear out junk files and repair common Windows errorsFree Scan →Outbyte Driver Updater FREEScan for outdated or missing drivers - takes under a minuteDriver Scan →Optiv’s closing announcement confirms the structure and date: the equity transaction completed on February 1, 2017, with the Blackstone-affiliated fund and management continuing as minority investors. (Optiv closing release)
#1 Best Overall
When the announcement became a completed transaction
- December 6, 2016: KKR and the selling investors announced an agreement for KKR to acquire a majority stake, subject to customary conditions.
- First quarter of 2017: This was the expected closing window stated at announcement.
- February 1, 2017: Optiv and KKR announced that the transaction had closed.
Reading only the 2016 announcement leaves the impression that the deal was still pending. The February 2017 release is the confirmation that ownership control actually transferred.
Who sold Optiv and who stayed invested?
The selling shareholder group included a private-equity fund managed by Blackstone, Investcorp and Sverica Capital. Blackstone’s affiliated fund and Optiv management retained minority positions, aligning management with the company after KKR took control.
The transaction was advised by Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley for Optiv and by Jefferies for KKR. Kirkland & Ellis and Simpson Thacher provided legal advice to the respective parties, according to the original announcement.
How much was Optiv worth?
The official parties did not disclose financial terms. SecurityWeek reported contemporary estimates of approximately $1.8 billion to $1.9 billion, while CRN described the transaction as approximately $2 billion. Those figures are media estimates, not a confirmed purchase price, and may refer to enterprise value that included debt.
Accordingly, the defensible description is that the deal was estimated at roughly $1.8 billion to $2 billion, rather than that KKR paid a disclosed $1.9 billion or $2 billion.
For context on the reported range, see SecurityWeek’s transaction coverage and CRN’s closing report.
Rank #3
What Optiv did before the deal
Optiv was an enterprise cybersecurity solutions provider created by combining Accuvant and FishNet Security. Its services included cybersecurity strategy, security architecture and technology integration, managed security, incident response, risk and compliance work, consulting, training and support.
At the time of the announcement, Optiv said it served more than 7,500 clients in 76 countries, including 71 Fortune 100 companies and 604 Fortune 1000 companies. Those figures were company-provided and describe the business during the 2016 transaction period, not a current customer count.
Why Optiv attracted KKR
KKR presented Optiv as a cybersecurity partner and adviser to large enterprises, particularly Global 1000 customers. The investment thesis centered on several factors:
Rank #4
- Enterprise customers’ need for broader, integrated cybersecurity services rather than isolated products.
- Optiv’s scale after the Accuvant-FishNet combination.
- Opportunities to expand managed-security and other solution capabilities.
- Potential growth in the United States and internationally.
- A platform for participating in a growing cybersecurity-services market.
Optiv said KKR’s capital would support expanded services and solutions, broader geographic reach and a larger global cybersecurity platform.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.What happened after KKR’s investment?
The transaction closed in 2017
The February 1, 2017 closing established KKR as the controlling investor while preserving minority ownership for Blackstone’s affiliated fund and Optiv management.
Later sale and IPO discussions were exploratory
Reuters reported in 2022 that KKR was exploring a possible sale or IPO of Optiv at a valuation above $3 billion including debt. That report described an exploration, not a completed sale or public listing.
Best Value
In 2023, Optiv executives discussed a possible future IPO and emphasized that the company did not need to pursue one immediately. CRN also reported that Optiv had previously filed IPO intentions in 2016 before the KKR acquisition interrupted that plan. Neither account establishes that Optiv completed an IPO.
Optiv’s 2026 corporate activity
Optiv announced in June 2026 that it sold its Advisory, Consulting and Transformation business to Vobis Ventures. In March 2026, it announced an agreement with existing creditors to amend and extend its credit facilities. These developments show continuing strategic and financial change, but the cited announcements do not provide a current ownership cap table.
Optiv’s board materials identify John Park, a KKR executive, as chairman of Optiv’s board. That supports ongoing KKR-linked governance, but it does not prove that the original 2017 ownership percentages remain unchanged. (Optiv board biography)
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?
A free scan shows the junk files, broken settings and background clutter dragging Windows down - then fixes them in one click.Free scan · Windows 10 & 11Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?
Random freezes, missing sound and display glitches usually trace back to one bad driver. Find and replace yours safely.Free scan · under a minuteHow to describe the deal accurately today
- Call it a 2016 announcement followed by a February 1, 2017 closing.
- Describe KKR’s purchase as a majority-stake acquisition, not a 100% buyout.
- Name Blackstone, Investcorp and Sverica as the selling investors.
- Note that Blackstone’s affiliated fund and management retained minority interests.
- Present $1.8 billion to $2 billion only as a contemporary media estimate.
- Do not turn later sale or IPO reports into claims that Optiv was sold or went public.
- Do not assume the 2017 ownership percentages are still current without a verified cap table.
Optiv’s press-release archive records the 2026 business sale and credit-facility amendment. As of August 18, 2026, the available materials establish ongoing corporate activity and KKR-linked board involvement, but not a verified exit by KKR.
Quick Recap
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

