DriversRecommendedOutdated drivers can make a good PC feel brokenScan driver issues before chasing fixes manually.Scan NowFall ResetAmazon USFall reset deals: check better picks before checkoutAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.Check DealsWindows FixRecommendedWindows errors stealing your time? Find the fix fastScan stability, cleanup and performance issues.Fix Now×
Skip to content
Blog

How Lloyds Plans to Train Every Employee in AI by the End of 2026

By TheFinanceBase Team7 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

Lloyds Banking Group is aiming to give all of its roughly 67,000 colleagues AI training by December 31, 2026. The programme is not one advanced course for everyone: it combines a responsible-use foundation with learning tailored to employees’ roles. As of June 22, Lloyds reported that more than 65,000 colleagues had completed training on working responsibly with AI, but it has not publicly shown that every employee completed the full AI Academy curriculum.

What Lloyds has announced

Lloyds launched its AI Academy in January 2026, setting a goal of upskilling 100% of its colleagues during the year. The bank describes its workforce as approximately 67,000 people. The aim is broad AI literacy and practical capability across the organisation—not to make every employee an AI engineer.

The Academy is part of a larger effort to use AI in banking operations and customer services. Lloyds says it wants colleagues to feel confident using AI, identify useful applications in their work and help move suitable projects beyond experimentation. Those are the bank’s objectives; the public announcements do not yet provide independently measured productivity or customer-outcome results.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

ITPro’s January 2026 account of the Academy describes the original target and planned learning approach.

What the AI Academy includes

Lloyds has described a mix of interactive modules, podcasts, articles, short courses, workshops, live demonstrations, on-demand resources and community learning. Some learning is intended to connect AI concepts to practical work rather than treating the subject as purely technical.

The programme is organised around four broad groups. Lloyds has named the groups, while the descriptions below explain the likely distinction between their needs:

Learning group Likely focus
AI Users Using approved AI tools appropriately in everyday tasks and checking their outputs.
AI Leaders Setting priorities, assessing value and overseeing responsible adoption in teams or business areas.
AI Builders Developing AI tools, systems or workflows.
AI Enablers Supporting adoption through areas such as data, risk, implementation, operations and governance.

That role-based approach matters in a bank: an employee using an AI assistant to summarise information does not have the same responsibilities as an engineer building a system or a risk specialist evaluating it. Lloyds has not published a complete syllabus for each pathway, a universal minimum number of learning hours or a full assessment framework. It is therefore not possible to conclude that every colleague receives the same depth or type of instruction.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The common starting point: responsible use

The initial common requirement was a short module called “Working with AI Responsibly.” Lloyds says it is intended to establish safe and ethical use in line with the bank’s internal standards.

In a progress update dated June 22, 2026, Lloyds said more than 65,000 colleagues had completed training on working responsibly with AI. The same update reported more than 400,000 AI Academy courses taken. These figures measure different things: 65,000 refers to colleagues completing responsible-use training, while 400,000 is course activity, not a count of unique people or proof that 400,000 employees completed the full programme.

The reported completion figure is close to the approximately 67,000-person workforce figure, but the numbers may use different dates, populations or reporting definitions. Lloyds has not publicly confirmed that every employee had finished all applicable Academy learning by June, nor that the responsible-use module is the only mandatory element. Public material also does not specify whether the module has a test or grants permission to use particular AI systems.

Lloyds’ June 22 update is the latest progress information in the cited announcements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Senior leaders have a separate, more intensive course

Workforce-wide learning is distinct from Lloyds’ “Leading with AI” programme for senior leaders. The 80-hour course is delivered with Cambridge Spark and was designed with expertise from the University of Cambridge. It covers AI’s development, generative AI’s possible effects on banking, ethical and value-focused innovation, hands-on sessions, virtual masterclasses and real-world projects to develop potential use cases.

More than 110 senior leaders had completed the course by October 13, 2025. Lloyds said it intended to extend the programme across its executive and senior leadership teams by the end of 2026. This leadership course should not be mistaken for the standard training assigned to all employees. Details are in Lloyds’ October 2025 announcement.

Training is only one part of the AI plan

Lloyds is pairing broad workforce learning with specialist capability. In June 2026, it said it planned to expand its AI workforce to more than 1,000 roles during the year, including nearly 300 roles connected with agentic AI. The bank said more than 700 colleagues were already working on AI use cases. Roles include data and AI scientists, engineers, responsible-AI specialists and AI product managers.

The bank is also developing an early-career pipeline. Its June update described a cohort of 33 apprentices starting a Level 6 AI Engineering programme across Lloyds’ UK hubs. Separately, Lloyds said its AI Centre of Excellence, launched in 2023, included more than 200 specialists in October 2025, among them 50 PhD-level specialists. These are figures reported by Lloyds at different dates, not a single current headcount.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Lloyds’ 2026 Data and AI Summer School expanded to more than 250 sessions, covering data literacy, visualisation, machine learning and applied AI through live and on-demand learning and practical workshops. The previous year’s programme reportedly had more than 90,000 registrations across 200 sessions. Registrations do not necessarily represent unique participants or completed courses.

Where Lloyds says it is applying AI

The June update cited AI-powered fraud-detection agents that analyse payments in real time and an AI financial assistant being rolled out. Lloyds said the assistant was available to more than 500,000 Bank of Scotland customers at the time of the announcement. The bank has also described work on internal processes and customer services as part of its wider AI agenda.

These deployments help explain why training includes both everyday users and specialist builders, but the existence of a tool or rollout does not establish its impact. The announcements do not provide independent before-and-after measurements of time saved, customer outcomes, accuracy or risk reduction.

Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

Why responsible AI needs more than a course

Lloyds says its responsible-AI approach includes seven core ethics principles, an AI Assurance Framework, a Data & AI Ethics Committee, a risk-mitigation template and a central repository of AI guardrails. The bank has also reported appointing a dedicated responsible-AI lead and is recruiting further responsible-AI specialists.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Training can help employees recognise when an AI output needs checking, but it cannot by itself make a banking system safe. Effective controls also depend on factors such as access restrictions, data governance, testing, human oversight, audit trails, ongoing monitoring and clear accountability. Public announcements describe Lloyds’ governance structures but do not provide enough detail to assess how effectively those controls work in each deployment.

Risks can include staff putting confidential information into unauthorised tools, acting on hallucinated or biased outputs, sending inaccurate AI-generated customer communications, or approving summaries without checking underlying evidence. Agentic AI raises additional questions because systems may be able to take multiple steps or interact with other tools. Appropriate safeguards can include tightly bounded permissions, human approval for consequential actions, transaction limits, logging, monitoring, reversibility and incident procedures. Lloyds’ public update mentions agentic systems and hiring, but does not disclose detailed controls for individual systems.

Has Lloyds met its target?

The evidence available from Lloyds’ June 22 update indicates substantial progress on the responsible-use baseline: more than 65,000 colleagues had completed that training against a stated workforce of approximately 67,000. But that is not the same as proving that every colleague completed every course appropriate to their role, passed an assessment or can demonstrate practical competence. The June figure also predates the December 31, 2026 target.

Completion is a programme-delivery measure, not proof that employees use AI regularly or correctly, that productivity has improved, or that customer outcomes are better. A fuller assessment would require a clear definition of completion and competence, role-by-role coverage, refresh requirements, authorised-tool guidance, incident data and measurable results. Lloyds has not provided all of those details in the cited public announcements.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The bank has said that around 60% of its workforce may need to reskill as AI is integrated and that many current skills could evolve by 2030. Those are Lloyds’ projections, not independently verified forecasts. They help explain the scale of its ambition, but do not establish what any particular employee’s role will become.

What remains unclear

  • What minimum learning path applies to each role, and how much time it requires.
  • Whether modules are assessed and how Lloyds defines demonstrated competence.
  • How often the training is refreshed as tools and risks change.
  • Which AI tools employees may use for particular types of work or data.
  • How staff report errors, unsafe outputs or suspected incidents.
  • What measurable productivity, customer-service or risk outcomes the programme has produced.

For now, the most precise description is that Lloyds is pursuing universal baseline AI literacy, role-specific learning and deeper specialist development in parallel. Its June figures show the responsible-use module nearing the size of the reported workforce, while full completion of the broader AI Academy remains unverified publicly.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Written by TheFinanceBase Team

The Team behind TheFinanceBase.

Add your note

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan
Windows Errors? Fix Them Before They SpreadFree repair scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.