Fall ResetAmazon USFall reset deals: check better picks before checkoutAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.Check DealsPC HealthRecommendedCrashes, freezes, slowdowns? Check your PC nowSpot repairable issues before they interrupt work.Check PCFall ResetAmazon USWork and home upgrades are worth comparing todayAmazon US: today's deals, useful picks and quick comparisons.See Picks×
Skip to content
Blog

CoreWeave’s European data-center plan: what happened to the three-site expansion?

By TheFinanceBase Team6 min read
Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you.

CoreWeave announced plans on June 7, 2024, to invest $2.2 billion across Europe and build data centers in Norway, Sweden and Spain. The company said it was targeting completion by the end of 2025, but the available reporting does not confirm whether the three facilities were completed or opened. The announcement is therefore best understood as a historical expansion plan—not proof of operating sites.

What CoreWeave announced

The 2024 plan called for one new data-center facility in each of Norway, Sweden and Spain. CoreWeave said the projects formed part of a $2.2 billion European investment and were intended to expand its GPU-cloud capacity for customers in Europe and the UK. The company also said the sites would use 100% renewable energy and set an end-of-2025 target for completion. Those were announced plans, not independently verified outcomes. The original announcement coverage does not establish that the sites opened on schedule.

Country What was announced What remains unconfirmed in the available reporting
Norway A planned CoreWeave data center City, power capacity, construction progress and operational status
Sweden A planned CoreWeave data center City, power capacity, construction progress and operational status
Spain A planned CoreWeave data center City, power capacity, construction progress and operational status

The report does not specify whether “data centers” meant standalone facilities, campuses or leased deployments. It also does not identify landlords, construction partners, GPU quantities, customer commitments, grid-connection milestones or the projects’ eventual costs.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Why build GPU capacity in Europe?

AI training and inference can require large amounts of accelerated computing. Placing infrastructure nearer to customers can reduce network distance, which may help latency-sensitive applications and make it easier to keep some workloads and data within a particular region. Local infrastructure can also matter for procurement, data-residency policies and regulatory requirements.

#1 Best Overall
Tecmojo 6U Wall Mount Server Cabinet IT Network Rack Enclosure Lockable Door and Side Panels Black, Cooling Fan, Standard Glass Door, 450mm Depth, for 19” IT Equipment, A/V Devices
  • Save valuable floor space: 6U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 13.78" H x21.65" W x17.72" D.Maximum mounting depth is 14.2"
  • Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access. Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
  • Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punch-out panels for easy cable access
  • Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
  • PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant

CoreWeave positioned the expansion as a way to provide low-latency, “data-sovereign” infrastructure for European and UK customers. That is the company’s description of its strategy, not a guarantee that every legal or operational concern is resolved by a European server location. Data sovereignty can depend on more than where hardware sits: ownership, who can access systems, support arrangements, subprocessors, data transfers and contract terms may all matter. Norway, Sweden, Spain, the EU and the UK also do not share one identical legal or power-market environment.

For customers, a regional facility could be useful if it offers the required GPU model, capacity and contractual data-location commitments. Geography alone does not establish that a service will be faster, cheaper or compliant for a particular workload.

Planned hardware and workloads

The announcement referred to NVIDIA Blackwell GPUs and NVIDIA Quantum-2 InfiniBand networking. CoreWeave presented this as a high-performance configuration for AI workloads; the original coverage attributed the “for the first time at scale” characterization to the announcement. Neither that phrase nor the hardware reference confirms what equipment was ultimately installed at each site.

What’s actually slowing this PC down?

Pick the symptom - the matching free tool is one click away.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

InfiniBand is designed for fast communication among connected compute nodes, an important consideration when training models across many GPUs. But a plan naming a GPU generation and network does not show how many units would be available, whether they arrived on schedule, or whether customers could reserve them. Building a facility and making a particular GPU configuration available to customers are separate milestones.

Related coverage described the broader European expansion as supporting machine learning and generative AI, graphics and rendering, life-sciences computing, and real-time streaming. Those were potential workload categories for the wider plan, not confirmed assignments for each Norway, Sweden or Spain site. Coverage of CoreWeave’s UK expansion provides that broader context.

Rank #2
Tecmojo 12U Wall Mount Server Cabinet IT Network Rack Enclosure Lockable Door and Side Panels Black,Cooling Fan,Glass Door,17.7inch Depth,for 19” IT Equipment,A/V Devices
  • Save valuable floor space: 12U wall mount server cabinet Dimensions: 24.25" H x21.65" W x17.72" D. MAXIMUM MOUNTING DEPTH is 14.2".
  • Keep critical network equipment secure: glass door and side panels are lockable to prevent unauthorized access; Front door can be installed on either side of the front of the cabinet to satisfy your door swing orientation preference
  • Easy equipment configuration: Fully adjustable mounting rails and numbered U positions, with square holes for easy equipment mounting with top and bottom punchout panels for easy cable access
  • Durability: Made of high quality cold rolled steel holds up to 110lb (50kg) (Easy Assembly Required)
  • PCI & HIPPA and EIA/ECA-310-E compliant

How it fit with the UK plans

In May 2024, CoreWeave had also announced plans for a London headquarters and two UK data centers, with a reported investment of about $1.3 billion for the UK initiative. That was a related but separate announcement from the three-site plan in Norway, Sweden and Spain. The figures should not simply be added together: the reporting describes different scopes and does not provide a common accounting basis for comparing or combining them.

The UK coverage also referred to more than $3.5 billion in wider regional investment. That figure, like the $1.3 billion UK scheme and $2.2 billion three-country announcement, is tied to the scope stated in the relevant report. It should not be treated as a verified total of money spent or as evidence that all planned capacity was delivered.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

The infrastructure and financial risks behind a data-center announcement

A major investment figure signals ambition, but it does not answer whether a project can be built on time or earn an adequate return. GPU data centers depend on power availability, grid connections, cooling, permits, network access and equipment supply. Delays in any of these can push back the point when a facility can serve customers. The available coverage does not report site-specific power capacity, grid status, construction milestones or GPU counts for these projects.

The renewable-energy commitment also needs careful interpretation. “100% renewable energy” can refer to different procurement arrangements, such as direct supply, power-purchase agreements or renewable-energy certificates. The cited reporting does not specify which mechanism was planned for these sites, so it does not establish how the claim would be measured or matched to actual consumption.

For investors, a construction announcement is not the same as recognized revenue, customer demand or profitable utilization. The report identifies no named customers, reserved capacity, occupancy or pricing for the three facilities. Large capital commitments may increase future capacity, but they also expose a company to execution, financing, power-cost and utilization risks. The announced investment alone cannot show whether the projects generated a return.

Rank #3
Tecmojo 4U Wall Mount Rack,4U Rack 14 inch Depth,19" Network Rack for Shallow Server and IT Equipment, Network Switches,Patch Panel Bracket,110lbs(50kg) Weight Capacity,Black
  • Sturdy:4u server rack is construct from cold rolled steel, with a weight capacity of 110lbs(50kg); Electrostatic powder coat prevents rust and corrosion,quality finish
  • Direct use:Open and use, not having to assemble it.Network rack can be placed flat or mounted on the wall,also can be installed vertically under the table
  • Design Features:maximum mounting depth of 14 in,cables can be fixed on the side panel;Open frame server rack achieves effortless inspection, replacement and assemble
  • Installation:wall mount network rack is easy to install,with instructions or videos for reference;Equipped with multiple accessories, suitable for different needs
  • Application:EIA/ECA-310-E Compliant;wall mounted 4u rack fits all 19" racks and cabinets to hold various IT, network, and AV equipment;wall mount rack available in 4U, 6U, and 8U to choose

At the time of the June 2024 report, CoreWeave was also described as expecting to operate 28 data centers by the end of 2024 and as having raised more than $12 billion in funding. Those are historical expectations and figures, not current operating or funding totals, and they do not establish the status of the European projects.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Independent reader supportYour contribution helps us test, update, and keep practical guides available for everyone.Support on Ko-Fi

What a customer should verify before relying on the plan

Organizations evaluating CoreWeave or any GPU-cloud provider should confirm the actual service offering rather than infer it from an investment announcement. Before committing, ask for written, workload-specific answers to questions such as:

  • Is the relevant country or region operational and generally available, or merely announced or under construction?
  • Which GPU model and quantity can be supplied, and is capacity on-demand or reserved?
  • Where will data be stored and processed, and what contractual commitments cover data location?
  • Where are support staff and subprocessors located, and what access or cross-border transfer arrangements apply?
  • What network topology is available for multi-node training, and what are the storage, network-transfer and egress charges?
  • What service levels, delivery dates, reservation terms and cancellation or exit rights are in the contract?
  • Does the environment support the customer’s software stack, and how difficult would it be to move workloads elsewhere?
  • How does the provider substantiate renewable-energy and carbon-accounting claims?

These checks matter because an announced site can be delayed, a completed building can precede general availability, and a live facility may not yet have the promised GPU inventory. A European address by itself does not resolve questions about service dependencies, legal control or workload portability.

What is known about delivery?

The documented timeline is limited: CoreWeave announced the three-country plan on June 7, 2024, with an original target of completing the facilities by the end of 2025. The available reporting confirms the announcement and target, but does not establish whether any or all of the sites were completed, opened, delayed, resized or canceled by August 2026. It also does not verify deployment of the planned Blackwell GPUs, the renewable-energy arrangements, or current regional availability. Accordingly, the $2.2 billion should be described as the announced investment, not confirmed spending or proof of delivered infrastructure.

Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply.

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.
Written by TheFinanceBase Team

The Team behind TheFinanceBase.

Add your note

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Special offer. See more information about Outbyte and uninstall instructions. Please review EULA and Privacy policy.

Recommended PC Tool
Recommended PC Tool
PC Slower Than It Used to Be?Free scan - under a minute
Crashes, No Sound, or Screen Glitches?Free driver scan

Two free Windows tools

One Free Minute Could Fix That PC

Before you go - each of these free tools takes about a minute and tackles what quietly slows a Windows PC down.

Special offer. View Outbyte info, uninstall instructions, EULA, and Privacy Policy.